Naked Raygun Jettison

13 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  V6VE
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 10, 1999
  • Label: Quarter Stick


  • 1.Soldiers Requiem
  • 2.When the Walls Come Down
  • 3.Walks in Cold
  • 4.Jettison
  • 5.Live Wire
  • 6.The Mule
  • 7.Coldbringer
  • 8.Blight
  • 9.Free Nation
  • 10.Hammeread
  • 11.Ghetto Mechanic
  • 12.Suspect Device
  • 13.Vanilla Blue - (bonus track)
  • 14.Strip, The - (bonus track)
  • 15.Roller Queen - (bonus track)
  • 16.Backlash Jack - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Naked Raygun: Jeff Pezzati (vocals); John Haggerty (electric guitar, saxophone); Pierre Kezdy (bass); Eric Spicer (drums).
Producers: Naked Raygun, Larry Sturm, Iain Burgess.
Principally recorded at Jericho Studio and The Riviera, Chicago, Illinois. Includes liner notes by Bernie Bahrmasel.
Occupying the space between the punk movement's departure and the arrival of grunge, Jettison is a definitive link between the two musical genres and, with its speedy slashing and grinding, is the most jarring and diverse of Naked Raygun's albums. Electrocuting guitars, pummeling drum beats, and unmerciful vocals, which combine the Misfits' "whoa-oh-oh" vocal with Naked Raygun's own straight-talking dirge, collaborate to make Jettison part art-rock dissonance, part down-your-throat punk. Pierre Kezdy's bass gurgles blood on one track, and is swampy on the next. Vocalist Jeff Pezzati's fast-talks like an auctioneer at one point, then sandblasts on the following turn. Throughout, John Haggerty's guitar buzzes and hacks, finally reaching its zenith on "Suspect Device," in which you could swear trees are being severed at their roots. Cementing everything together is Eric Spicer's drumming, which could easily pass as a battery of guns all firing at once. Moreover, the working-class ethic of Naked Raygun's sound consistently shines, whether its on the anthemic "Vanilla Blue" or the punk/big-guitar rock feel of "Coldbringer." Lyrically, while 1985's Throb Throb thrives on military politics, Jettison burns on the images and realities of a conservative-led nation, and on the social rules of the city; "Ghetto Mechanic" captures the essence of inner-city freelance labor as well as any song before or since. Quarterstick's reissue of Jettison adds three live bonus tracks to what is already a phenomenal album, a record that is a harbinger of bands like Fugazi and Shellac. Recorded at Chicago's Riviera Theater in November 1987, the live material has meaty guitars that are sprinkled with metallic flakes; one just has to close their eyes to imagine the mosh pit that formed in front of the stage that fall night. ~ Bob Gendron

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Naked Raygun

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 125,024
  • UPC: 036172008629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)