7 Seconds Walk Together, Rock Together

Walk Together, Rock Together
11 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  363S9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Better Youth Org.


  • Buy for $0.991.Regress No Way
  • Buy for $0.992.We're Gonna Fight
  • Buy for $0.993.In Your Face
  • Buy for $0.994.Spread
  • Buy for $0.995.99 Red Ballons
  • Buy for $0.996.Remains to Be Seen
  • Buy for $0.997.Walk Together, Rock Together
  • Buy for $0.998.How Do You Think You'd Feel?
  • Buy for $0.999.Strength
  • Buy for $0.9910.Still Believe
  • Buy for $0.9911.Out of Touch
  • Buy for $0.9912.Drug Control
  • Buy for $0.9913.Bottomless Pit / This Is The Angry Part 2
  • Buy for $0.9914.New Wind / We're Gonna Fight

Product Description:

Personnel: Kevin Seconds (vocals, background vocals); Steve Youth, Dan Pozniak (guitar, background vocals); Troy Mowat (drums, background vocals); Jerry Hesketh, Ian MacKaye (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Brett Guervitz; Brett Gurewitz .
Recording information: Fender's Ballroom, Long Beach, CA [live]; Inner Ear Studios; Studio On Wheels.
Photographers: Angie Whitworth; Kane Boychuk; Jerry Hesketh.
Arranger: 7 Seconds.
As one of first hardcore bands, 7 Seconds pioneered the sound that would give birth to a lasting subgenre of punk based around positivity and a fight for equality and human rights. Though 7 Seconds would go on to play and record in various incarnations for over 30 years after their 1980 inception, Walk Together, Rock Together stands as their most definitive statement of clear-headed purpose and youthful exuberance, as well as one of the blueprints for straight-edge punk and hardcore. This 1986 LP expands the 1985 EP of the same name by combining those studio tracks with a handful of raw live recordings representing side B. Although the album is still relatively short (clocking in at under half an hour), the band manages to speak volumes in its quick, energetic bursts of nascent punk. Studio tracks like "We're Gonna Fight" and "Regress No Way" scream with nonstop energy and bombastically positive sentiments about the struggle of the young to live life their own way and fight small-minded oppressors, racists, and hatemongers. The crisp production by Minor Threat's Ian MacKaye helps clean up some of the rougher edges that stick around on the live tracks, but never detracts from the spontaneity and excitability of the sessions. Rather than coming off as filler, the live material offers a complementary counterpoint for the studio songs. Riled-up tracks like "Still Believe" and "Bottomless Pit" crackle with a spirit of hopefulness, addressing some of the issues of the day in the microcosmic punk scene, such as unity, the integrity of other bands, and the inevitability of getting older. Unfortunately, Walk Together, Rock Together's anthems of teenage punkhood are overlooked for the inclusion of their tongue-in-cheek cover of Nena's pop hit "99 Red Balloons," a competent yet unremarkable tossed-off track that barely applies to the depth and drive of the rest of the album. Along with Group Sex by the Circle Jerks, Out of Step by Minor Threat, and Damaged by Black Flag, Walk Together, Rock Together is an essential chapter of early hardcore, and paved the way for other classics that followed, especially in the youth-positive straight-edge of the Gorilla Biscuits, Youth of Today, Judge, and many others. ~ Fred Thomas

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for 7 Seconds

Product Info

  • UPC: 020282001021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)