Robbie Robertson How to Become Clairvoyant (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
88 ratings
Only 7 copies left
List Price: $18.98
Your Price: $17.08
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  FOTN 17822

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 11, 2011
  • Label: 429 Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.75
4 stars out of 5 -- "'When the Night Was Young' combines Sixties idealism and voodoo grind with memories of back roads and juke-joint gigs..."
Rolling Stone - p.69
Ranked #10 in Rolling Stone's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "[A] seamless marriage of innovation and tradition."
Billboard (p.28) - "The set is an enveloping mix of melody, mood and texture that speaks to Robertson's triple-threat virtues as a performer, composer and producer..."
Paste (magazine) - "[With] a wonderful back-handed keyboard vamp in 'When The Night Was Young'..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.97
4 stars out of 5 - "There are telling contributions from Eric Clapton, Steve Winwood and Trent Reznor, but it's the subdued voice of Robertson himself that plainly gives the record its momentum..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Straight Down The Line
  • 2.When The Night Was Young
  • 3.He Don't Live Here No More
  • 4.The Right Mistake
  • 5.This Is Where I Get Off
  • 6.Fear of Falling
  • 7.She's Not Mine
  • 8.Madame X
  • 9.Axman
  • 10.Won't Be Back
  • 11.How To Become Clairvoyant
  • 12.Tango for Django

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Right Mistake (Demo)
  • 2.He Don't Live Here No (Demo)
  • 3.Fear of Falling (Demo)
  • 4.This Is Where I Got Off (Demo)
  • 5.Madame X (Demo)
  • 6.Houdini (Unreleased track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Jimi Englund (percussion); Jason Boshoff, Matt Robertson, Eldad Guetta, Marius de Vries (programming).
Recording information: Olympic Studios; The Strongroom; The Village.
Photographers: Alan Douglas; Charles P. M. Mitchell ; David Jordan Williams; Sante d'Orazio; Stephanie Romanov Wechler; Nimi Ponnudurai; Anton Corbijn; Robbie Robertson.
How to Become Clairvoyant is Robbie Robertson's first album since Contact from the Underworld of Redboy in 1998. The new album was co-produced by Robertson and Marius de Vries (Massive Attack, Bj?rk, and Rufus Wainwright), and recorded over two years in London and Los Angeles. (There was a long break in the sessions when Robertson answered director Martin Scorsese's call to work on the music for the film Shutter Island.) Robertson wrote eight of the album's 12 tunes, co-wrote three with Eric Clapton (who appears numerous times on both guitar and vocals) and one with de Vries. There's an all star musician's guest list that includes Steve Winwood, Trent Reznor, Robert Randolph, Tom Morello, and Angela McLuskey. Robertson's backing band includes bassist Pino Palladino, drummer Ian Thomas, pianist Martin Pradler, and backing vocalists Angelyna Boyd, Daryl Johnson, and Rocco Deluca. The album's first single, "He Don't Live Here Anymore," a song about addiction, was released to radio on January 29.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 88 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Robbie Robertson

Product Info:

  • UPC: 795041782229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items