The Kinks Arthur: Deluxe Edition [Import]

Arthur: Deluxe Edition [Import]
8 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.28 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2.71 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XS5D
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 28, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Sanctuary Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3/6/03, p.73
4 stars out of 5 - "...ARTHUR sounds like a quiet masterpiece....Davies' tunes are spilling over with ideas and melodies..."
Rolling Stone - 11/1/69, p.38
"...An incredible album, the band in their finest form, turning it in from start to finish...a masterpiece on every level: Ray Davies' finest hour, the Kinks' supreme achievement."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Victoria (Original Mono)
  • 2.Yes Sir, No Sir (Original Mono)
  • 3.Some Mother's Son (Original Mono)
  • 4.Drivin' (Original Mono)
  • 5.Brainwashed (Original Mono)
  • 6.Australia (Original Mono)
  • 7.Shangri-La (Original Mono)
  • 8.Mr Churchill Says (Original Mono)
  • 9.She's Bought A Hat Like Princess Marina (Original Mono)
  • 10.Young And Innocent Days (Original Mono)
  • 11.Nothing To Say (Original Mono)
  • 12.Arthur (Original Mono)
  • 13.Plastic Man (Original Mono Single)
  • 14.This Man He Weeps Tonight (Original Mono Single)
  • 15.Mindless Child Of Motherhood (Original Mono Single)
  • 16.Creeping Jean (Original Mono Single)
  • 17.Lincoln County (Original Mono Single)
  • 18.Hold My Hand (Original Mono Single)
  • 19.Victoria (Studio Recordings For The BBC)
  • 20.Mr Churchill Says (Studio Recordings For The BBC)
  • 21.Arthur (Studio Recordings For The BBC)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Victoria (Original Stereo)
  • 2.Yes Sir, No Sir (Original Stereo)
  • 3.Some Mother's Son (Original Stereo)
  • 4.Drivin' (Original Stereo)
  • 5.Brainwashed (Original Stereo)
  • 6.Australia (Original Stereo)
  • 7.Shangri-La (Original Stereo)
  • 8.Mr Churchill Says (Original Stereo)
  • 9.She's Bought A Hat Like Princess Marina (Original Stereo)
  • 10.Young And Innocent Days (Original Stereo)
  • 11.Nothing To Say (Original Stereo)
  • 12.Arthur (Original Stereo)
  • 13.Plastic Man (Stereo)
  • 14.This Man He Weeps Tonight (Stereo)
  • 15.Drivin' (Alternative Mix) (Previously Unreleased)
  • 16.Mindless Child Of Motherhood (Stereo)
  • 17.Hold My Hand (Alternative Take)
  • 18.Lincoln County (Stereo) (Previously Unreleased)
  • 19.Mr Shoemaker's Daughter (Stereo) (Previously Unreleased)
  • 20.Mr Reporter (Stereo) (Previously Unreleased)
  • 21.Shangri-La (Backing Trake) (Previously Unreleased)

Product Description:

The Kinks: Ray Davies (vocals, guitar, piano); Dave Davies (vocals, guitar); John Dalton (bass); Mick Avory (drums).
Recorded at Pye Studios, London, England.
Personnel: Ray Davies (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Dave Davies (vocals, guitar); John Dalton (bass guitar); Mick Avory (drums).
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Andrew Sandoval.
Recording information: Polydor Studios (01/1969-03/1969); Pye Studios, London (01/1969-03/1969); Polydor Studios (03/1969); Pye Studios, London (03/1969); Polydor Studios (05/1969); Pye Studios, London (05/1969); Polydor Studios (05/1969-06/1969); Pye Studios, London (05/1969-06/1969); Polydor Studios (10/1968); Pye Studios, London (10/1968); Polydor Studios (12/1968); Pye Studios, London (12/1968).
After the commercial failure of VILLAGE GREEN PRESERVATION SOCIETY, the Kinks could have gone one of two ways. They could have forgotten about making cohesive, "veddy British" albums and gone back to simply putting together album-length collections of unrelated songs. Or they could have moved from concept albums to full-fledged rock operas, full of third-person tunes that would enable Ray Davies to further distance himself from his audience.
They chose the latter, earning themselves a solid core of new fans along the way. The pleasure of ARTHUR is that, while it shows the Kinks' readiness to tackle the rock opera form, it retains a close connection with their more pop-oriented past. Opener "Victoria" remained a concert favorite for years afterwards, while the delicate "Shangri-La" likewise took on a life of its own outside the rock-opera format. Clearly, the group had more creativity at this point than it knew what to do with. ARTHUR is probably the only album that you could play for a fan of the pop Kinks and a fan of the theatrical Kinks and please both.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Kinks

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 91,323
  • UPC: 602527322742
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)