Vikki Carr It Must Be Him / For Once In My Life

It Must Be Him / For Once In My Life
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 2850
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Liberty LST-7533 (1967)
  • Original Album #2: Liberty LST-7604 (1969)


  • 1.It Must Be Him
  • 2.Can't Take My Eyes Off You
  • 3.One More Mountain
  • 4.A Million Years Or So
  • 5.So Much In Love With You
  • 6.Tunesmith
  • 7.A Bit Of Love
  • 8.Alfie
  • 9.Forget You
  • 10.Look Again (Theme From "Irma La Douce")
  • 11.Her Little Heart Went To Loveland
  • 12.For Once In My Life / After Today
  • 13.Happy Together
  • 14.Yesterday I Heard The Rain
  • 15.Come Rain Or Come Shine / This Girl's In Love With You
  • 16.It Must Be Him
  • 17.Can't Take My Eyes Off You
  • 18.Days
  • 19.Carnival (Maha De Carnival)
  • 20.The Other Man's Grass Is Always Greener
  • 21.With Pen In Hand
  • 22.Some Of These Days / After You've Gone
  • 23.For Once In My Life
  • 24.The Lesson (Bonus Track)
  • 25.Never My Love (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: IT MUST BE HIM (1967)/FOR ONCE IN MY LIFE (1969).
Personnel includes: Vikki Carr (vocals); Ernie Freeman, PerryBotkin, Jr., Bob Florence, Tommy Oliver, Sid Feller (arranger).
Producers: Tommy Oliver, Dave Pell, Ron Bledscoe.
Originally released on Liberty (7533) & Liberty (7604). Includes liner notes by Al Fichera.
This discount-priced two-fer combines Vikki Carr's two highest charting albums, It Must Be Him, which keyed off of her only Top Ten hit, and For Once in My Life, a live recording. Carr had been recording for most of the 1960s when she unexpectedly broke big with "It Must Be Him," which may be the ultimate torch song, in the fall of 1967. She sang the melodramatic ballad with a sense of torn emotion in her voice, recounting the turmoil of a love affair that has not quite ended, at least as far as the song's narrator is concerned. The It Must Be Him album, not surprisingly, expanded upon this theme to include other songs of lost love, songs that, 35 enlightened years later, sound like paeans to female victimization, most of them written by men. But there are also some gems, such as Carr's reading of "Alfie" and an early Jimmy Webb composition, "Tunesmith," a title he later used for his songwriting instruction book. For Once in My Life, recorded at the Persian Room of the Plaza Hotel in New York, is a typical nightclub act in which Carr introduces ringside celebrities (Henny Youngman, Ed Sullivan, etc.) and weakly attempts humor based on her Mexican heritage and marriage to a Jewish man. But she also sings a clutch of then-contemporary pop hits ("For Once in My Life," "This Girl's in Love With You," etc.), some of which remain well-known decades later. By combining these two albums, Collectables requires the buyer to acquire two recordings of "Can't Take My Eyes Off You" and "It Must Be Him," but the label also sweetens the pot by adding as bonus tracks "The Lesson," Carr's second-biggest hit, and a good version of the Association hit "Never My Love." ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 4 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 5.0 Only the BEST By the BEST-VIKKI CARR! Music Lover: from Brownsville,TX -- April, 18, 2004

This CD is great! I can't get enough of it! My favorites are songs 12 thru 23 because they were recorded Live at the Persian Room. Thanks Collectables for putting this on CD!
Now how about giving us Live in Japan?

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Vikki Carr

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,751
  • UPC: 090431285022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)