Freddie King Very Best of Freddy King, Volume 1

Very Best of Freddy King, Volume 1
12 ratings
SALE: $12.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $3.99 (24% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 2824
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Digitally Mastered By: Little Walter DeVenne
  • Liner Notes: Victor Pearlin
  • Compiled By: Victor Pearlin
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Although Freddy King on had a handful of charting singles, his catchy instrumentals and style made him the inspiration for the likes of Eric Clapton, Peter Green and Stevie Ray Vaughan. This is the first of three CDs that cover the entire recorded output of Freddy King for the King and Federal record labels. The recordings on this volume were made between August, 1960 and July, 1961 and include "Hide Away," "I'm Tore Down" and "San-Ho-Zay."


  • 1.You Know That You Love Me
  • 2.See See Baby
  • 3.You've Got To Love Her With A Feeling
  • 4.Have You Ever Loved A Woman
  • 5.Hide Away
  • 6.I Love That Woman
  • 7.Lonesome Whistle Blues
  • 8.If You Believe (In What You Do)
  • 9.It's Too Bad (Things Are Going So Tough)
  • 10.I'm Tore Down
  • 11.Onion Rings
  • 12.Sen-Sa-Shun
  • 13.Side Tracked
  • 14.The Stumble
  • 15.San-Ho-Zay
  • 16.Wash Out
  • 17.Just Pickin'
  • 18.Heads Up
  • 19.Christmas Tears
  • 20.Let Me Be (Stay Away From Me)
  • 21.Takin' Care Of Business
  • 22.You Mean Mean Woman (How Can Your Love Be True)
  • 23.I Hear Jingle Bells
  • 24.In The Open
  • 25.Out Front

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
Recording information: 08/1960-07/1961.
The phrase "very best of" in an album title usually indicates a highly selective collection of an artist's career highlights. By that standard, in one sense Collectables Records' The Very Best of Freddy King, Vol. 1 should be called something else; a more accurate description of the contents would be "The Complete Freddy King on Federal Records, Vol. 1." That's because this is the first of three discs that present every recording King made for the King Records subsidiary Federal in chronological order. This disc traces King's Federal stint from his first recording session on August 26, 1960, to the following July. But in another sense, The Very Best of Freddy King is an apt title. King enjoyed all of his singles chart success during 1961, scoring six entries on the R&B charts and five on the pop charts, and all of those tracks are included here, from "You've Got to Love Her With a Feeling" to "Christmas Tears." King's biggest hit was the instrumental "Hide Away," which hit the pop Top 40 and the R&B Top Five and gained even more recognition when it was remade by John Mayall and Eric Clapton on the Bluesbreakers album. Perhaps King's best-known song was the B-side of "You've Got to Love Her With a Feeling," "Have You Ever Loved a Woman," which Clapton remade on the celebrated Derek & the Dominos album Layla, and of course King's version is included here. Indeed, it is difficult at this juncture to listen to almost any King recording and not be reminded of his chief disciple, Clapton. But that only means this collection is an essential addition to the basic library of blues fans. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records
Very Best Of King/Federal/DeLuxe Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
one of the true "Kings" of blues guitar players Music Lover: from Topeka, KS -- January, 2, 2006

This comment applies to volumes one, two, and three in this series of CDs by Freddie King.

Here is your chance to hear all of Freddie King's recordings made for the King/Federal label. These are among the very finest post-World War II era blues recordings.

I am glad I got to see Freddie King perform once on stage in the 1970s.

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Volumes:
Get Email Alerts for Freddie King

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 36,666
  • UPC: 090431282427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Blues: Texas / West Coast Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)