Chet Atkins Guitar Country / More of That Guitar Country

Guitar Country / More of That Guitar Country
5 ratings
SALE: $12.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $3.99 (24% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 2819
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: June 7, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Chet Atkins influence on country music cannot be overstated. During his career, he has been a prominent Nashville session player, record producer, guitar designer for both Gibson and Gretsch, and the vice president of RCA's Nashville Division. Some of the highlights on this two original albums on one CD collection are "Freight Train," Johnny Cash's "Understand Your Man," and Donovan's "Catch The Wind".


  • 1.Freight Train
  • 2.A Little Bit Of Blues
  • 3.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 4.Dobro
  • 5.Kentucky
  • 6.Vaya Con Dios
  • 7.Winter Walkin'
  • 8.Guitar Country
  • 9.Sugarfoot Rag
  • 10.Gone
  • 11.Copper Kettle
  • 12.Yes Ma'Am
  • 13.Yakety Axe
  • 14.Back Up And Push
  • 15.Cloudy And Cool
  • 16.Alone And Forsaken
  • 17.Old Joe Clark
  • 18.Catch The Wind
  • 19.How's The World Treating You
  • 20.Understand Your Man
  • 21.Letter Edged In Black
  • 22.My Town
  • 23.Blowin' In The Wind
  • 24.The Last Letter

Product Description:

Originally released on RCA (2783) & RCA (3429).
Recording information: Nashville Sound Studio, Nashville, TN.
Arranger: Chet Atkins.
Chet Atkins is a great guitar player. His fingerpicking style set the pace in the '50s, leading budding guitarists to play his LPs at slower speeds to discover the master's technique. Atkins' genius, however, has not always come across in the recording studio. As author of the Nashville sound, he has often found it expedient to add background singing, strings, and syrupy arrangements to his records. These problems crop up on Guitar Country/More of That Guitar Country, but they are less "problems" than distractions. Atkins, even in less than perfect situations, still plays guitar like no one else. He covers a number of classics -- "Sugarfoot Rag," "Freight Train," and "Nine Pound Hammer" -- but also shows himself to be a "with it" guy by tackling "Blowin' in the Wind" and Donovan's "Catch the Wind." Atkins' trademark style of combining chords with a steady bassline comes across wonderfully on Johnny Cash's "Understand Your Man" and the original "My Town." One would be remiss for not mentioning that More of That Country Guitar kicks off with "Yakety Axe," a lovely guitar romp like no other. It is perhaps odd, now that most music comes on CDs, to realize that many LPs lasted no more than 30 minutes. This, however, has allowed Collectables to put both of these records onto one CD, giving the listener nearly 60 minutes of prime Chet Atkins. For guitar players and fans, Guitar Country/More of That Guitar Country will be an enjoyable release. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Chet Atkins: Guitar Country And More of That Guitar Country Music Lover: from Peru Indiana -- June, 4, 2004

Of the hundred or so Album's that Chet left as his legacy, this surely has to be near the top of my list as an all time favorite.
This album takes me back. That is, FAR back. It takes me back to a time when Chet was at his very prime.(Not that he was ever anything but excellent to the end)
But what I am saying is that the tunes on this set show Chet at his very brightest. His guitar just rings so clear, and virtually every note sparkles with the expresive genius that he was.
Of the many numbers on the set, let me highlight a few:
A little Bit of Blues is a Jerry reed composition that doesn't really sound anything like Jerry's other tunes.
It is, though, a blues tune, and the chords Chet uses just sound so absolutely, irresistably "Bluesy", that you have to listen to the tune over and over, because it is just that catchy. This one gets in your head, and in a nice way! After the first day of listening to it, I found myself HEARING those wonderful blues chords in my head all through the day. And it wasn't irritating. (as it is when SOME tunes get stuck in your head!) Instead, it just made me feel GOOD all day. My day went better, and I got more work done than I have in a long time! Hope this happens to you!
Dobro sparkles with a good country twang, and darned if Chet didn't make the guitar sound like a dobro for that tune!
Winter Walkin is so rythmic and catchy that you'll never get enough of it!
Yakety Axe is a tune that shows Chet at his rollickin' best! High notes ring clear here!
Back up and push has a driving steady bass beat of the kind that helped make Chet famous! It's SO listenable! You'll love this tune!
Old Joe Clark is just plain fancy pickin of a very old fiddle tune, and I'll never know how he did it.
Catch the Wind is a tune so evocative and emotional that it makes your eyes wet. This tune is just plain full of feeling, and Chet brings out that feeling and emotion as no other guitarist ever can. This is pure Chet, and his guitar is speaking in this one. It becomes his voice.
He uses long, sweet sustained chords to bring out this beautiful melody by Donavan. Very emotional. You can get LOST in this song.
How's the World Treating You is a tune that Chet wrote with Bordeaux Bryant on a lonely tour one year, and it is sad, pretty, and emotional. Now, at the time of this writing, it is being sung by James Taylor and Alyson Krause on the current music scene. Chet's music is timeless.
There are many other tunes on this set, including Copper Kettle, which Chet uses to bring you right back to the hills, and he paints a sound picture with his guitar, with "on fire" pickin!
Sugarfoot Rag is the livliest tune you ever heard, and Chet picks it smooth, quick, and with an irrestible beat.
There are many more tunes on this set, but time doesn't permit right now.
All I can say is this: Chet Atkin's was the single most imitated, talented, and certainly the BEST guitar player to ever walk this planet. His playing is indescribably amazing, versatile, and beautiful. He WAS Mr. Guitar, and no one, but NO one can ever touch him. His guitar could play the softest tender lulaby, or he could make you get up and want to clap with foot tappin' rythym. He could do sweet harmony, lilting melody, or whatever the song called for. He played it in a way that made it seem like the guitar was singing! And indeed it was.
He could take you to the Smokey Mountains, or he could fit in with the likes of the Boston Pops Orchestra. He could play ANYTHING from rock to Bach, with every stop in between.
Chet was the undisputed MASTER of the guitar, and this Cd set will give you a hint as to why.
Buy it, listen to it, and be AMAZED at the most beautiful guitar music in the world.
Yes, as I said, this is PRIME Chet, and through this sparkling clear CD, Chet lives again, and seems to come alive through your speakers, as his guitar does all the talkin'!

Get Email Alerts for Chet Atkins

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 37,290
  • UPC: 090431281925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Country: Nashville Sound Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)