Eddie Floyd The Very Best of Eddie Floyd

The Very Best of Eddie Floyd
3 ratings
Hurry! Only 1 copy left Sorry no back-orders
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  ERAR
Brand New

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Stax


  • Buy for $0.991.Things Get Better
  • 2.Knock on Wood
  • 3.Raise Your Hand
  • 4.Love Is a Doggone Good Thing
  • 5.On a Saturday Night
  • 6.Big Bird
  • Buy for $1.297.I've Never Found a Girl (To Love Me Like You Do)
  • Buy for $1.298.Bring It on Home to Me
  • Buy for $0.999.I've Got to Have Your Love
  • Buy for $1.2910.Don't Tell Your Mama (Where You've Been)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Why Is the Wine Sweeter (On the Other Side)
  • Buy for $0.9912.California Girl
  • Buy for $0.9913.My Girl
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Best Years of My Life
  • Buy for $0.9915.Blood Is Thicker Than Water
  • Buy for $0.9916.Yum Yum Yum (I Want Some)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Baby, Lay Your Head Down (Gently on My Bed)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Check Me Out
  • Buy for $0.9919.Soul Street
  • Buy for $0.9920.I Got a Reason to Smile (Cause I Got You)

Product Description:

Although he is far from a household name in the 21st century, as a songwriter, producer, and performer Eddie Floyd made regular visits to the R&B charts from the mid-'60s through the mid-'70s while he was a part of the legendary Stax Records family. Floyd was originally hired by Stax as a writer and, paired with MG's guitarist Steve Cropper, he wrote several hits for the label, including one for himself, the classic "Knock on Wood" (based on the chord progression for "In the Midnight Hour" reversed), which was Floyd's second single when it was released in 1966. Later, Floyd began writing with another MG's member, Booker T. Jones, and his stay at Stax neatly divides into a Cropper era and a Jones era, both of which are covered in this fine 20-track set. Included are "Knock on Wood," the poignant "Big Bird" (written in the wake of Otis Redding's death, it should have been a bigger hit and remains a favorite of many collectors of vintage soul sides), and a strong cover of Sam Cooke's "Bring It on Home to Me," as well as essentially every key track Floyd sang lead on for Stax. He did much more behind the scenes as a writer and producer, but this set makes a solid introduction to Floyd as a performer, and while he might not have bottled dynamite on-stage quite as famously as Redding or Wilson Pickett, he certainly knew what to do with the recipe. The very definition of unsung, Eddie Floyd truly deserves a wider contemporary audience. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Eddie Floyd

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 38,836
  • UPC: 888072303058
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)