Gerry & The Pacemakers Don't Let The Sun Catch You Crying / Second Album

Don't Let The Sun Catch You Crying / Second Album
14 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 2784
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

British Pop stars Gerry & The Pacemakers followed in the Beatles' footsteps, having the same manager (Brian Epstein) and same record producer (George Martin). This compact disc brings together the Pacemakers' first two albums, is filled with their top ten hits and perfectly showcases their classic Brit Pop style.


  • 1.Don't Let The Sun Catch You Crying
  • 2.I'm The One
  • 3.Away From You
  • 4.Jambalaya
  • 5.Maybelline
  • 6.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 7.How Do You Do It
  • 8.You'Re The Reason
  • 9.Don't You Ever
  • 10.Summertime
  • 11.Slow Down
  • 12.Show Me That You Care
  • 13.I Like It
  • 14.A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues
  • 15.Where Have You Been
  • 16.Here's Hoping
  • 17.Pretend
  • 18.The Wrong Yo Yo
  • 19.Chills
  • 20.You Can't Fool Me
  • 21.It's Happened To Me
  • 22.It's All Right
  • 23.Girl On A Swing

Product Description:

Originally released on Laurie.
Liner Note Author: Al Fichera.
Collectables Records' two-fer combines material from two LPs released by Laurie Records in 1964 that constitute most of the early recordings of Gerry & the Pacemakers, the second beat group to come out of Liverpool and join the British Invasion. Like their predecessors, the Beatles, the Pacemakers had their U.K. recordings parceled out differently across the Atlantic; in England, this material made up their 14-track album How Do You Like It? and a bunch of A- and B-sides of singles. In the U.S., Laurie got two 12-track LPs out of it, though two of the same songs ended up on both records. On this compilation, seven of the 12 songs the group placed in the American singles charts are included: "Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying," "How Do You Do It?," "I'm the One," "I Like It," "You'll Never Walk Alone," "You're the Reason," and the bonus track, "Girl on a Swing," the Pacemakers' final Top 40 hit from 1966. The album tracks are often similar to the singles, bouncy pop tunes penned by Mitch Murray and the band's lead singer/guitarist, Gerry Marsden, with the rest covers of country, rock, and R&B evergreens. Gerry & the Pacemakers earned their place as Liverpool's second biggest band of the mid-'60s. They were a tight little rock & roll band with an exuberant leader. Marsden's enthusiastic, adenoidal tenor comes across well on the ballads, suggesting his later musical direction and foreshadowing the breakup of the Pacemakers, who ultimately couldn't keep pace with the musical changes of 1966-1967. But that was later. This 1963-1964 material catches the band at its height, and if the absence of hits like "Ferry Across the Mersey" keeps it from being complete, it is nevertheless a well-rounded portrait of one of the better British Invasion bands. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 14 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 5.0 Great British Invasion Value! Music Lover: from Tulsa OK -- January, 6, 2007

This CD includes the first two of the group's albums on Laurie Records in America. Similar to The Beatles early releases, these LP's were a patchwork of various British singles, EP's and album cuts. Because of this, the selections on the American albums were never in the chronological order in which they were recorded and slight variances in sound and stereo separation are noticeable. However, the sound quality is very good considering the age. Unlike the original Laurie albums, 17 of the 23 recordings on this CD are in true stereo. Nothing is re-channeled. Selections 3, 10, 11, 14, 19 & 22 are mono. Produced by EMI/Capitol Special Markets. Somewhat cheesy packaging and artwork by Collectables. All in all, a good package.

For anyone who thinks this group was only known for their pop songs and ballads, these guys could rock. Check out "Don't You Ever", "Slow Down", and "A Shot of Rhythm and Blues".

Hopefully, we will some day see the release of the group's remaining Laurie albums, "I'll Be There" and "Girl On A Swing" along with the G&P selections from the "Ferry Cross The Mersey" soundtrack on United Artists as bonus tracks.

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Gerry & The Pacemakers

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 53,960
  • UPC: 090431278420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)