Smokey Robinson & The Miracles The Solo Albums, Volume 5

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.8
4 ratings
Hurry! Only 3 copies left Sorry no back-orders
List Price: $16.98
SALE PRICE: $14.68
You Save: $2.30 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  GG 210

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Hip-O Select


  • 1.Tracks of My Tears [Live]
  • 2.Love's So Fine [Live]
  • 3.Baby That's Backatcha [Live]
  • 4.The Agony and the Ecstasy [Live]
  • 5.Quiet Storm [Live]
  • 6.Dialogue [Live]
  • 7.Why You Wanna See My Bad Side [Live]
  • 8.Daylight and Darkness [Live]
  • 9.Madam X [Live]
  • 10.Dialogue II [Live]
  • 11.The Tears of a Clown [Live]
  • 12.Bad Girl / (You Can) Depend On Me [Live]
  • 13.Here I Go Again [Live]
  • 14.Mickey's Monkey [Live]
  • 15.You've Really Got a Hold On Me [Live]
  • 16.Shoe Soul
  • 17.I Second That Emotion [Live]
  • 18.Ooo Baby Baby [Live]
  • 19.Vitamin U [Live]
  • 20.Baby Come Close [Live]

Product Description:

Personnel: Marvin Tarplin, Wah-Wah Watson (guitar); Michael Jacobsen (cello, saxophone); Fred Smith (flute, saxophone); Roderick Rancifer, Sonny Burke (keyboards); Scotty Harris (drums); James "Alibe" Sledge (congas, background vocals); Ivory Davis (kettle drum, timpani, background vocals); Patricia Henley (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Michael Lizzio; Smokey Robinson.
Liner Note Author: Peter Doggett.
Recording information: The Roxy, W. Hollywood, CA (05/25/1978).
Photographer: Neil Zlozower.
Vol. 5 of Hip-O Select's ongoing Smokey Robinson solo album reissue series is a straight-up reissue of the 1978 live album Smokin'. Although this opens with "The Tracks of My Tears," this isn't an oldie revue heavy on hits with the Miracles. Instead, this double album is very much of its time, relying heavily on recent hits with everything, even the classic '60s sides, given a bit of a disco makeover. While these new arrangements hardly trump the originals, they make for a better overall experience: perhaps this isn't Smokey at his absolute peak, but it is a reflection of a legend working hard to build upon his legacy without living in the past. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 47,619
  • UPC: 602527668352
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: