Bobby Vee The Night Has A Thousand Eyes / Meets The Crickets

The Night Has A Thousand Eyes / Meets The Crickets
7 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 2777
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Tracks 1-12, Bobby Vee with the Johnny Mann Singers, Arranged by Ernie Freeman
  • "Meets The Crickets" produced by Snuff Garrett
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Liberty 7285 (1963)
  • Original Album #2: Liberty 7228 (1962)

Description by

Bobby Vee first came to national attention when he and his group The Shadows filled in for Buddy Holly after the tragic plane crash in 1959. Vee soon went on to great popular success logging thirty-seven hits on the Billboard charts during his career. This CD features two albums originally released on Liberty Records and features the Top 10 hit "The Night Has A Thousand Eyes," plus two bonus tracks.


  • 1.Go Away Little Girl
  • 2.It Might As Well Rain Until September
  • 3.It Couldn't Happen To A Nicer Guy
  • 4.Theme For A Dream
  • 5.Silent Partner
  • 6.The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
  • 7.You Won't Forget Me
  • 8.Anonymous Phone Call
  • 9.If She Were My Girl
  • 10.Lover's Goodbye
  • 11.Dry Your Eyes
  • 12.What About Me
  • 13.Peggy Sue
  • 14.Bo Diddley
  • 15.Someday
  • 16.Well... All Right
  • 17.I Gotta Know
  • 18.Lookin' For Love
  • 19.Sweet Little Sixteen
  • 20.When You're In Love
  • 21.Lucille
  • 22.Girl Of My Best Friend
  • 23.Little Queenie
  • 24.The Girl Can't Help It
  • 25.No One Knows
  • 26.Gotta Travel On

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Bob Celli.
Originally released on Liberty (7285).
Originally released on Liberty (7228).
Producer: Snuff Garrett.
Personnel: Johnny Mann Singers (vocals); Howard Roberts , Tommy Allsup (guitar); Gene Garf, Aaron Freeman (keyboards); Jerry Allison (drums, background vocals); Earl Palmer (drums); Buzz Cason, Jerry Naylor (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Bob Celli.
Arranger: Aaron Freeman.
As far as the music of early teen idol Bobby Vee goes, owning anything but a greatest-hits package would seem inconceivable to all but the fanatical. However, like most singers who came up in an era known primarily for singles (albums were expensive and stuffed with easily forgotten filler), occasionally a few hidden gems tucked away on those grooves would pop up. The Collectables reissue combining The Night Has a Thousand Eyes and Bobby Vee Meets the Crickets is a good example of more substance than might be given credit. Riding on the success of the hit single "The Night Has a Thousand Eyes," the 1963 album of the same name contained similar overlooked songs of equal enjoyment value (except when the Johnny Mann Singers got in the way) penned by King/Goffin ("Go Away Little Girl"), Jackie DeShannon, and David/Bacharach. Vee also had the desire to show off his rock & roll roots and, for a brief time, the Crickets backed Vee on his earliest hits. While there was no comparison concerning Vee filling Buddy Holly's shoes (although he sounds amazingly similar), he does a credible job on these rock & roll standards made famous by Chuck Berry, Roy Orbison, Little Richard, and Buddy Holly. These two enjoyable sessions deserve further examination. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Bobby Vee

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431277720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)