Stevie Ray Vaughan The Real Deal: Greatest Hits, Volume 2

The Real Deal: Greatest Hits, Volume 2
97 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  A3XV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 25, 2008
  • Label: Sony


  • 1.Love Struck Baby
  • 2.Ain't Gone 'N' Give Up On Love
  • 3.Scuttle Buttin'
  • 4.Wall of Denial
  • 5.Lenny
  • 6.Superstition
  • 7.Empty Arms
  • 8.Riviera Paradise
  • 9.Look At Little Sister
  • 10.Willie the Wimp
  • 11.Pipeline
  • 12.Shake For Me
  • 13.Leave My Girl Alone
  • 14.Telephone Song
  • 15.Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)
  • 16.Life By the Drop

Product Description:

& Double Trouble.
Personnel includes: Stevie Ray Vaughan (vocals, guitar); Tommy Shannon (bass); Chris Layton (drums).
Producers include: Stevie Ray Vaughan, Richard Mullen, Double Trouble, Jim Capfer, Nile Rodgers.
Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
Includes liner notes by Scott Jordan.
Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
During the seven years he recorded (1983-1990), Stevie Ray Vaughan's mixture of blues, jazz and soul influences revitalized modern blues at a time when its popularity was sagging considerably. Be it shuffles ("Empty Arms"), Grant Green-flavored instrumentals ("Riviera Paradise") or wah-wah driven funk played with his equally gifted sibling Jimmie ("Telephone Song"), Vaughan's musical range makes calling him "a blues guitarist" the equivalent of calling Mt. Everest a small hill.
Vaughan was always quick to acknowledge his influences by way of his covering their material. When he wasn't paying homage to blues giants like Howlin' Wolf ("Shake For Me") and Buddy Guy ("Leave My Girl Alone"), Vaughan wandered farther afield in tipping his hat to less obvious heroes like Dick Dale ("Pipeline"), Stevie Wonder ("Superstition") and legend Hank Ballard ("Look At Little Sister"). Like his hero Jimi Hendrix (who Vaughan acknowledges with a devastating cover of "Voodoo Chile [Slight Return]"), the fleet-fingered Texan was as fluid playing rhythm ("Wall Of Denial," "Love Struck Baby") as he was tearing into a fat-toned solo ("Scuttle Buttin'").

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 97 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Product Groupings:
Get Email Alerts for Stevie Ray Vaughan

Product Info

  • UPC: 886972262925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)