Coalesce There Is Nothing New Under the Sun [Bonus Tracks]

There Is Nothing New Under the Sun [Bonus Tracks]
6 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $14.38
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.87 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $3.11 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  ER4G
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Hydrahead Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Immigrant Song
  • Buy for $0.992.Heartbreaker
  • Buy for $0.993.Black Dog
  • Buy for $0.994.Out on the Tiles
  • Buy for $0.995.Whole Lotta Love
  • Buy for $0.996.That's the Way
  • Buy for $0.997.Thank You
  • Buy for $0.998.I'm Giving up on This One
  • Buy for $0.999.Vehicle
  • Buy for $0.9910.In the Wilderness
  • Buy for $0.9911.Bob Junior
  • Buy for $0.9912.Supernaut
  • Buy for $0.9913.Cutting Away
  • Buy for $0.9914.That's the Way (Redux)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Thank You (Redux)

Product Description:

Coalesce: Sean Ingram (vocals); Jes Steiner (guitar); Nathan Ellis (bass); James Dewees (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Matt Pryor (vocals).
Recorded at Red House Studios, Lawrence, Kansas on September 4-17, 1998.
Coalesce: Nathan Ellis (bass instrument); Jes Steineger, James Dewees, Sean Ingram.
Personnel: Sean Ingram (vocals); Jes Steineger (guitar); James Dewees (drums, background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Ed Rose .
Recording information: Red House Studios, Eudora, KS (1997-1998); Westend Studios (1997-1998).
Photographer: James OMara.
Either a lengthy EP or a short full-length depending on how you look at it, this CD consists entirely of Led Zeppelin covers, reverently done yet not likely to be mistaken for the originals. The first five songs are played hard and heavy in Coalesce's pummeling metalcore style, peaking with a ferocious version of "Black Dog," spiced up with some of the band's trademark math metal rhythms. Frontman Sean Ingram handles the lead vocals in his typically caustic, bellowing roar, with Matt Pryor from emo-pop band the Get Up Kids chiming in on the melodic sections in his regular voice -- in other words, no Robert Plant impersonations here! The CD closes with two acoustic guitar-based ballads, "That's the Way" and "Thank You," giving some idea of what Zeppelin might have sounded like as sensitive Middle American post-adolescents. The vocals, done completely clean, are a little shaky on these tunes and sometimes veer off key, but somehow they work in this context. Led Zeppelin fans might be horrified at the liberties Coalesce takes here, but ultimately the band has succeeded at breathing new life into some heavily worn (though still classic) songs. (Coalesce listeners, on the other hand, will note this album as a precursor to the subsequent 0:12 Revolution in Just Listening, which also has its share of heavy blues-based rock grooves.) In any case, this is a fun disc, and one meant to be played loud. ~ William York

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Coalesce

Product Info

  • UPC: 798546232527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)