Amorphis Tales From the Thousand Lakes

Tales From the Thousand Lakes
47 ratings
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FR92
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Relapse


  • Buy for $1.291.Thousand Lakes
  • Buy for $1.292.Into Hiding
  • Buy for $1.293.The Castaway
  • Buy for $1.294.First Doom
  • Buy for $1.295.Black Winter Day
  • Buy for $1.296.Drowned Maid
  • Buy for $1.297.In the Beginning
  • Buy for $1.298.Forgotten Sunrise
  • Buy for $1.299.To Father's Cabin
  • Buy for $1.2910.Magic and Mayhem
  • Buy for $1.2911.Fork of the North
  • Buy for $1.2912.Moon and Sun
  • Buy for $1.2913.Moon and Sun, Pt. 2: North's Son
  • Buy for $1.2914.Light My Fire

Product Description:

Amorphis: Tomi Koivusaari (vocals, guitar); Esa Holpainen (guitar); Kasper Martenson (keyboards, Moog synthesizer); Olli-Pekka Laine (bass); Jan Rechenberger (drums).
Recorded at Studio Sunlight, Stockholm, Sweden in September 1993.
Personnel: Ville Tuomi, Tomi Koivusaari (vocals); Esa Holopainen (guitar); Kasper Martenson (keyboards, Moog synthesizer); Jan Rechberger (drums).
Recording information: Sunlight (09/1993); Sunlight Studios (09/1993).
Photographer: Darius Ramazani.
Arranger: Amorphis.
Bolder than The Karelian Isthmus and conceptually superior to later attempts at progressive but radio-friendly '90s metal, Tales From the Thousand Lakes might just be Amorphis' best recording. This record is heavy, yet never succumbs to the inane extremes common to the melodic death metal genre. The guitars and drums are in ample supply, and a rare attention to arrangement and production really sets this disc apart. The guttural vocal work isn't for every metal fan, but the neo-prog instrumental work and overall heaviness should impress those turned off by the throaty rants. In a possible attempt to widen the band's appeal, Tomi Koivusaari briefly sings, which doesn't exactly work out. These moments of confusion are short-lived, though, and they hardly blemish the release. The subtle addition of keyboards is a nice touch -- Amorphis' captivation with the instrument would soften later efforts. So even though Tales From the Thousand Lakes heralded a shift toward later, inferior recordings, the new and old are balanced precisely on this 1994 Relapse offering. ~ Vincent Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 47 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Amorphis

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 95,859
  • UPC: 781676650026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)