Collectables Records

Don Shirley Orpheus In The Underworld / Improvisations (2-CD)

Orpheus In The Underworld / Improvisations (2-CD)
77% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $12.99 (77% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  COL 2756
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Amazon sells this CD for $16.53, buying at saves you 76%
This is the price to buy directly from or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on May 22, 2016. Amazon is a registered trademark of, Inc.

Related products:

2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

Spotlight on Jazz Sale

CD Details

  • The album "Orpheus In The Underworld" was originally released as Cadence 1009. "Improvisations" was originally released as Cadence 1015.
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Cadence 1009 (1956)
  • Original Album #2: Cadence 1015 (1956)

Description by

Jamaican-born pianist/organist Don Shirley's place in music has always been unique, lying somewhere between classical and jazz, and his virtuosity was always marveled at by his peers. The first recording features his improvisations based on the mythological story of Orpheus in the Underworld; on the second selection he and his bass player Richard Davis shine on their improvs of popular standards.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 1)
  • 2.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 2)
  • 3.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 3)
  • 4.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 4)
  • 5.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 5)
  • 6.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 6)
  • 7.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 7)
  • 8.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 8)
  • 9.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 9)
  • 10.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 10)
  • 11.Orpheus In The Underworld (Band 11)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • 2.But Not For Me
  • 3.Tenderly
  • 4.What Is There To Say?
  • 5.Autumn Leaves
  • 6.Atonal Ostinato Blues In B
  • 7.When I Fall In Love
  • 8.Over The Rainbow
  • 9.Let's Fall In Love
  • 10.Walkin' By The River

Product Description:

Originally released on Cadence.
In 1999, Collectables released Orpheus of the Underworld/Improvisations, which contained two complete albums -- Orpheus of the Underworld (1956, originally released on Cadence) and Improvisations (1957, originally released on Cadence) -- by Don Shirley on one compact disc. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Collectables Records
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Product Series:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Don Shirley

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 4,169
  • UPC: 090431275627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Jazz Classics Product Series:

Jazz Instrument: Piano Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)