Matt Molloy Shadows on Stone

Shadows on Stone
4 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $2.60 (15% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  C46C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Caroline

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 5/97, p.124
"...[SHADOWS ON STONE] shares with all of Molloy's work that daredevil flair you hear in great flute-playing...In more subdued moments...his sound takes on a soulful quality that is as restful as a sunset."


  • 1.The Morning Thrush
  • 2.The Crib Of Perches / Carmel Mahoney Mulhaire's
  • 3.The Wind in the Woods
  • 4.Garrett Barry's Jig / Paddy Rafferty's Favourite
  • 5.Mulvihill's / Wallop The Spot
  • 6.The Mason's Apron
  • 7.A Fig For A Kiss / Poll Ha'Penny / Merry Sisters
  • 8.Chinese Lake Reflections
  • 9.Music of the Seals
  • 10.The Banshee
  • 11.The Sirius Reel / The Humours Of Max
  • 12.The Babbling Brook
  • 13.The Galway Piper / The Sligo Polka
  • 14.The Skylark / Finbar Dwyer's

Product Description:

Personnel: Mairead Ni Mhaonaigh (vocals); Stephen Cooney (guitar, digeridoo); Arty McGlynn (guitar); Frankie Gavin, Ciaran Tourish (fiddle); Neil Martin (cello, piano, keyboards); Derek Bell (harp, oboe); Matt Molloy (flute); Mairtin O Connor (accordion); Christy Moore (bodhran); Paddy Rafferty.
Engineers include: Tim Martin, Brian Masterson, Martin Murray.
Recorded at Westland Studios & Windmill Lane Studios, Dublin, Ireland; Liam Clancy's Studio, Waterford, Ireland; Steve Cooney's Studio, Tralee, Ireland between October 1995 & February 1996.
Shadows on Stone is a typically engaging and wonderful effort from Matt Molloy. On the whole, the record is one of Molloy's most invigorating albums, featuring the flautist as he runs through a series of jigs and reels, only occaisonally slowing down for reflective, slow songs, which are all the more effective in such a hyperactive setting. ~ Thom Owens

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Matt Molloy

Product Info

  • UPC: 017046110822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)