The Adjustment Bureau

Fight for your fate.
Rating 3.7
239 ratings
Movie on IMDb
List Price: $14.98
SALE PRICE: $5.98
You Save: $9 (60% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out
Item:  XD 13683D
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:
Loading...

Top ranking titles in the Mystery / Thriller genre:

Play Trailer

DVD Features:

  • Rated: PG-13
  • Run Time: 1 hours, 46 minutes
  • Video: Color
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Universal Studios
  • Encoding: Region 1 (USA & Canada)
  • Note: Deleted and extended scenes
    • Leaping through New York
    • Destined to Be
    • Becoming Elise
    • Feature commentary with writer/director George Nolfi
  • Dual Layer
  • Aspect Ratio: Widescreen - 1.85
  • Audio:
    • Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo - English, French, Spanish
    • Dolby Digital 5.1 - English, French, Spanish
    • Subtitles - French, Spanish

Performers, Cast and Crew:

Starring , , , , &
Directed by
Screenwriting by
Composition by
Photography by &
Director of Photography:

Entertainment Reviews:

Chicago Sun-Times - 03/02/2011
3 stars out of 4 -- "Matt Damon and Emily Blunt have an easy rapport....Beneath its apparent sci-fi levels, a romantic comedy lurks here."
Total Film - 04/01/2011
3 stars out of 5 -- "Blunt is funny and anarchic, Damon is determined and disarming. The chemistry is perfect..."
Los Angeles Times - 03/04/2011
"[A]n intriguing entertainment. ADJUSTMENT BUREAU's central concept is certainly ingenious..."
New York Times - 03/04/2011
"[A] fast, sure film about finding and keeping love across time and space....A witty mix of science-fiction metaphysics and old-fashioned fluttery romance."
Washington Post - 03/04/2011
3.5 stars out of 4 -- "[A]n enormously entertaining speculative thriller....This is a movie of myriad genres and tonal gradations, including classic science fiction in the tradition of BLADE RUNNER and THE MATRIX..."
Box Office - 02/28/2011
4 stars out of 5 -- "[B]oth a romance and a thriller, a vehicle that reunites Matt Damon with OCEAN'S TWELVE and THE BOURNE ULTIMATUM screenwriter George Nolfi, and allows the actor to work his considerable charm."
Entertainment Weekly - 03/11/2011
"THE ADJUSTMENT BUREAU is the thriller as glorified philosophical videogame...It's directed with a wide-eyed spirit." -- Grade: B
Sight and Sound - 05/01/2011
"[A]n essentially lighthearted diversion, dotted with romance, much BOURNE-style dashing around and the odd dab of existential musing."

Product Description:

The budding romance between a rising U.S. congressman and a gifted ballet dancer is unexpectedly complicated by otherworldly forces seeking to drive them apart by altering the very fabric of reality in this high-concept sci-fi thriller based on a story by famed author Philip K. Dick. David Norris (Matt Damon) is a rising New York congressmen whose everyman charisma has earned him a loyal following among locals. One night, after suffering a crushing political defeat, David is rehearsing his concession speech in a hotel bathroom when out of a stall wanders Elise (Emily Blunt), who was hiding out from security guards after crashing a wedding. The chemistry between David and Elise is instant and electric. But as fast as she appeared, Elise has vanished, leaving David to wonder if he will ever see her again. A few days later, as if by chance, David is boarding a bus for work when he spots Elise in a window seat. Though he manages to get her number this time, David is terrified when he arrives at his new job and discovers a mysterious group of men performing an unusual procedure on his paralyzed co-workers. Informed by the imposing and sharp-dressed Richardson (John Slattery) that he has just seen behind a curtain that few will ever know even exists, David agrees never to tell anyone of their encounter or talk to Elise again lest his entire memory be completely erased. But three years later, when David spots Elise walking down the street from the window of a city bus, he can't resist the urge to rekindle their romance. Unfortunately for the two young lovers, the mysterious agents at the Adjustment Bureau are determined to keep them apart at all costs in order to ensure there is no deviation from the master plan drawn up by "The Chairman" for the future of all humankind.

Plot Keywords:

Dancers | Fantasy | Romance | Romances | Science-Fiction

Movie Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 239 ratings.
Be the first Movie Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 27,544
  • UPC: 025192060571
  • Shipping Weight: 0.16/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item