John Hiatt Walk On

Walk On
36 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XW2E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/27/95, p.94
"...Hiatt has a genuine knack for upending stock images. Instead of fawning over an old dog that reminds him of lost happiness ('Dust Down A Country Road'), he'd love to shoot the damn thing." - Rating: A
Q - 1/96, pp.130-132
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...highly conversational works, fragmentary, less stylised and more restless..."
Musician - 11/95, p.90
"...the songs...reflect his peripatetic life....They burst with romantic longing, and with the dislocation and darkness encountered by a soul adrift on the road....While a somberly introspective mood prevails, he has maintained his singularly loopy sense of humor..."
New York Times (Publisher) - 1/6/96, p.C16
Included on Jon Pareles' list of the Top 10 Albums of '95 - "...As romance goes wrong and couples drift apart, Mr. Hiatt observes all the details of pain, lonliness and resignation..."


  • 1.Cry Love
  • 2.You Must Go
  • 3.Walk On
  • 4.Good as She Could Be
  • 5.River Knows Your Name
  • 6.Native Son
  • 7.Dust Down a Country Road
  • 8.Ethylene
  • 9.I Can't Wait
  • 10.Shredding the Document
  • 11.Wrote It Down and Burned It
  • 12.Your Love Is My Rest
  • 13.Friend of Mine
  • 14.Mile High - (bonus track)

Product Description:

The CD version of WALK ON contains an unlisted bonus track, "Mile High."
Personnel: John Hiatt (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, electric piano, Wurlitzer); David Immergluck (electric & slide guitars, mandolin, pedal steel, lap steel, 3-stringed stick, background vocals); Lisa Haley (violin); Benmont Tench (piano, harpsichord, pump organ); Davey Faragher (bass, background vocals); Michael Urbano (drums, percussion); Bonnie Raitt, Gary Louris, Mark Olson (background vocals).
Principally recorded at The Castle Recording Studios, Franklin, Tennessee.
"Cry Love" was nominated for 1997 Grammy Awards for Best Male Rock Vocal Performance and Best Rock Song.
Personnel: John Hiatt (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, electric piano); David Immergl쳌ck (electric guitar, slide guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Benmont Tench (piano, harpsichord, organ); Michael Urbano (drums, percussion); Davey Faragher, Gary Louris, Mark Olson , Bonnie Raitt (background vocals).
Recording information: A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA; Castle Recording Studios, Franklin, TN; Enterprise Studios, N. Hollywood, CA; Journey Room, Malibu, CA; MC Studios, Woodland Hills, CA.
WALK ON is Indiana native John Hiatt's musical trip to the Deep South. Fellow Hoosier John Mellencamp's incorporation of mandolins and fiddles into arrangements on LONESOME JUBILEE springs quickly to mind as a valid comparison; multi-instrumentalist David Immergluck even plays the part of Hiatt's own Lisa Germano, Mellencamp's string-playing foil. Immergluck's mandolin permeates "Cry Love" and "Dust Down A Country Road," giving life to an imaginary farm in the latter song; and Hiatt weaves images of Tennessee Williams and summertime New Orleans on the title track. Memphis too gets paid a visit, via the Hi Records groove of "Native Son."
Elsewhere on WALK ON, Hiatt's ability to critique the disfunctionality of '90s American culture seems as sharply honed as his descriptions of rustic scenarios. The songwriter's sardonic side shows up most clearly on "Shredding The Document," where he rips the hypocrisy behind the Eagles' reunion tour, and touches upon Larry King and the approaching millenium, in a riposte to trashy TV talk shows.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 36 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Hiatt

Product Info

  • UPC: 724383341627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)