Merle Haggard Hag / Someday We'll Look Back

Hag / Someday We'll Look Back
14 ratings
Price: $12.05
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XVYF
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 21, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.95
4 stars out of 5 -- "Haggard proved how crucial it was for a country guy to say what was on his mind -- and because he was such a sublime recording artist, he was able to make it stick, right from the start."


  • 1.Soldier's Last Letter
  • 2.Shelly's Winter Love
  • 3.Jesus, Take a Hold
  • 4.I Can't Be Myself
  • 5.I'm a Good Loser
  • 6.The Sidewalks of Chicago
  • 7.No Reason to Quit
  • 8.If You've Got Time (To Say Goodbye)
  • 9.The Farmer's Daughter
  • 10.I've Done It All
  • 11.I Ain't Got Nobody
  • 12.I'll Be a Hero (When I Strike)
  • 13.Trouble in Mind
  • 14.Someday We'll Look Back
  • 15.Train of Life
  • 16.One Sweet Hello
  • 17.One Row at a Time
  • 18.Big Time Annie's Square
  • 19.I'd Rather Be Gone
  • 20.California Cottonfields
  • 21.Carolyn
  • 22.Tulare Dust
  • 23.Huntsville
  • 24.The Only Trouble with Me
  • 25.Spanish Two Step
  • 26.Worried, Unhappy, Lonesome and Sorry

Product Description:

2 LPs in 1 CD: HAG (1971)/SOMEDAY WE'LL LOOK BACK (1972).
Audio Remasterer: Randy LeRoy.
Liner Note Author: Joel Selvin.
Real country simply doesn't get any better than this. The albums paired on this twofer, HAG and SOMEDAY WE'LL LOOK BACK, both released in 1971, were two of Merle Haggard's best. Given the wealth of quality material in his discography, that's saying quite a bit.
Both albums tend toward Hag's more introspective side, featuring ballads and downtempo tunes that artfully mix his Bakersfield honky tonk roots with folk, blues, and occasional pop tendencies. What really stands out--in addition to Haggard's aching baritone croon--is the consistently excellent songwriting, which touches on themes personal ("I'm a Good Loser"), social ("California Cottonfields"), and political ("I've Done it All"). Individually, HAG and SOMEDAY WE'LL LOOK BACK are stone-cold country classics. To have them both on one CD (with bonus tracks, no less) is almost too good to be true.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Merle Haggard

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 105,944
  • UPC: 094634478922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)