Bruce Springsteen The Promise (6-CD)

The Promise (6-CD)
108 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $125.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $115.82 Limited Time Only
List Price: $139.98
You Save: $24.16 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (6 Discs)
sku:  XVXX
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Paste (magazine) - "Springsteen reclaims his song that became Patti Smith's most commercially successful number 'Because the Night' with grace and brooding sensuality."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.87
5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he sound of 20 years of classic American pop filtered through one extraordinary performer....It's a fascinating insight into Bruce's habit of honing and tweaking his material, trying out all manner of variations."
Uncut (magazine) - p.82
5 stars out of 5 -- "[B]ig, bold, vibrantly coloured and laced with sweeping chorus hooks and towering middle eights. In a word, spectacular."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Badlands
  • 2.Adam Raised a Cain
  • 3.Something In the Night
  • 4.Candy's Room
  • 5.Racing In the Street
  • 6.The Promised Land
  • 7.Factory
  • 8.Streets of Fire
  • 9.Prove It All Night
  • 10.Darkness On the Edge of Town

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Racing In the Street ['78]
  • 2.Gotta Get That Feeling
  • 3.Outside Looking In
  • 4.Someday (We'll Be Together)
  • 5.One Way Street
  • 6.Because the Night
  • 7.Wrong Side of the Street
  • 8.The Brokenhearted
  • 9.Rendezvous
  • 10.Candy's Boy

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Save My Love
  • 2.Ain't Good Enough For You
  • 3.Fire
  • 4.Spanish Eyes
  • 5.It's a Shame
  • 6.Come On (Let's Go Tonight)
  • 7.Talk To Me
  • 8.Little Things, The (My Baby Does)
  • 9.Breakaway
  • 10.The Promise
  • 11.City of Night

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.A Commitment To Life
  • 2.Two Clouds
  • 3.The Sound Picture
  • 4.The Process
  • 5.Notebook
  • 6.Pop Songs
  • 7.Varying Opinions
  • 8.Adult Music
  • 9.Making an Album
  • 10.Vision of Now
  • 11.Sense of Possibilities
  • 12.Credits

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Badlands
  • 2.Adam Raised a Cain
  • 3.Something In the Night
  • 4.Candy's Room
  • 5.Racing In the Street
  • 6.The Promised Land
  • 7.Factory
  • 8.Streets of Fire
  • 9.Prove It All Night
  • 10.Darkness On the Edge of Town
  • 11.Save My Love [Holmdel, Nj 79]
  • 12.Candy's Boy [Holmdel, Nj 79]
  • 13.Something In the Night [Red Bank, Nj 76]
  • 14.Don't Look Back [Nyc, 78]
  • 15.Ain't Good Enough For You [Nyc, 78]
  • 16.The Promise [Nyc, 78]
  • 17.Candy's Room [Nyc, 78]
  • 18.Badlands [Phoenix, 78]
  • 19.The Promised Land [Phoenix, 78]
  • 20.Prove It All Night [Phoenix, 78]
  • 21.Born To Run [Phoenix, 78]
  • 22.Rosalita (Come Out Tonight) [Phoenix, 78]

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Badlands
  • 2.Streets of Fire
  • 3.It's Hard To Be a Saint In the City
  • 4.Darkness On the Edge of Town
  • 5.Spirit In the Night
  • 6.Independence Day
  • 7.The Promised Land
  • 8.Prove It All Night
  • 9.Racing In the Street
  • 10.Thunder Road
  • 11.Jungleland
  • 12.The Ties That Bind
  • 13.Santa Claus is Comin' To Town
  • 14.Fever
  • 15.Fire
  • 16.Candy's Room
  • 17.Because the Night
  • 18.Point Blank
  • 19.She's the One
  • 20.Backstreets
  • 21.Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  • 22.Born To Run
  • 23.Detroit Medley: Devil With the Blue Dress / Good Golly Miss Molly / C.C. Rider / Jenny Take a Ride
  • 24.Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  • 25.You Can't Sit Down
  • 26.Quarter To Three

Product Description:

Personnel: Bruce Springsteen (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Steve Van Zandt (vocals, guitar); Clarence Clemons (vocals, saxophone, percussion); Kevin Buell (guitar); Roy Bittan (piano, keyboards); Danny Federici (organ, glockenspiel); Charlie Giordano (organ); Garry Tallent (bass guitar); Harry McCarthy, Max Weinberg (drums).
Audio Mixers: Chuck Plotkin; Jimmy Iovine; Bob Clearmountain.
Audio Remasterer: Bob Ludwig.
Liner Note Author: Dale Adamson.
Recording information: Record Plant, NY; Thrill Hill Recording, Stone Hill Studio.
Directors: Barry Rebo; Arnold Levine.
Editor: Thom Zimny.
Photographers: Frank Stefanko; Eric Meola; Karla Olmedo; Walt Casey Jr.; Mark Wyville; John Wooding.
The Promise: The Darkness on the Edge of Town Story is a three-CD/three-DVD collection that includes a completely remastered version of the Darkness album and two more discs containing 21 unreleased songs recorded during the period that eventually produced the album. There is so much music here that Bruce Springsteen wondered whether or not much of this music should have been released between 1975's Born to Run and 1978's Darkness. The sheer amount of it is surprising in and of itself. That said, given how much of this is first-rate Springsteen and E Street Band material, it's staggering. The first of the three DVDs features a full-length documentary (which was shown on HBO) on the making of the album. The second disc contains a complete 2009 performance of the album at the Paramount Theatre in Asbury Park, NJ, as well as previously unseen footage from the Thrill Hill Vault, including complete song performances from band rehearsals, studio sessions, and live concerts during the Darkness era. The third DVD is a complete concert performance by Springsteen and the E Street Band in Houston during 1978. The set also includes an 80-page spiral-bound reproduction of Springsteen's notebooks documenting the album sessions. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 108 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Bruce Springsteen

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 107,342
  • UPC: 886977823022
  • Shipping Weight: 2.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)