Fischerspooner Odyssey

40 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JSY9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 5, 2005
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.72
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]his time around, the tunes are stronger and the arrangements are thicker."
Uncut - p.109
3 stars out of 5 - "ODYSSEY is a stronger record, boasting meatier, well-produced songs like 'Wednesday' and 'All We Are'....This is a daring album."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.95
3 stars out of 5 - "[I]ts many-coloured moods result in bankable Moroder moments, baroque ballads, and an ECG-blowing cover of Boredoms' 'O'."


  • 1.Just Let Go
  • 2.Cloud
  • 3.Never Win
  • 4.A Kick in the Teeth
  • 5.Everything to Gain
  • 6.We Need a War
  • 7.Get Confused
  • 8.Wednesday
  • 9.Happy
  • 10.Ritz 107
  • 11.All We Are
  • 12.[Untitled Track]

Product Description:

Fischerspooner: Warren Fischer, Casey Spooner.
Personnel: Warren Fischer (vocals, guitar, piano, Wurlitzer organ, triangle, vibraslap, percussion, programming); Nicolas Vernhes (vocals, guitar, drums); Linda Perry, Mira Billotte, Casey Spooner, Lizzy Yoder (vocals); Kyle Johnson (guitar, vibraslap, percussion); Mirwais Ahmadza‹, Tony Hoffer (guitar); Robert Aaron (flute); Roger Joseph Manning, Jr. (piano); Brian Reitzel (drums); Lee Groves (programming).
Additional personnel: Slick Johnson (guitar, vibraslap); Roger Manning (piano); Brian Reitzell (drums); Linda Perry, Mirwais Ahmadza‹, Tony Hoffer, Lizzy Yoder.
Audio Mixers: Warren Fischer; Steve Fitzmaurice; Mark "Spike" Stent; Michael Patterson .
Recording information: Joe Music Studio, New York, NY; Rare Book Room, New York, NY; Sunset Sound, Hollywood, CA; The Pierce Rooms, England.
Photographer: Dusan Reljin.
After the tremendous response to the hit single "Emerge," Fischerspooner's 2001 debut album was re-worked and re-released in 2003 as #1. The duo delivered ODYSSEY in 2005. Group masterminds Casey Spooner and Warren Fischer still channel the spirit of early-1980s electronic pop by referencing Depeche Mode, Dead or Alive, Yaz, and Erasure. But while they come across as electro-pop traditionalists, they are firmly entrenched in the aesthetics of the DJ and '90s club culture. The sophistication of their stylistic brew and formidable studio skills is apparent throughout ODYSSEY.
In addition to their sleek, beautiful sonic surfaces, Fischerspooner construct mesmerizing synth patterns and melodic hooks that are immediately accessible. Sure to rival "Emerge" as the group's most popular dance anthem, "Just Let Go" rides along on a propulsive programmed drum beat, a winding synth-bass line, and an ecstatic chorus. "Cloud" is a dreamy reverie, contrasting with the electro-funk of "Never Win." Even when Fischerspooner gets political ("We Need a War"), their grip on pitch-perfect neo-New Wave never falters, making ODYSSEY an excellent listen from beginning to end.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 40 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Fischerspooner

Product Info

  • UPC: 724359489629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)