Black 47 Fire of Freedom

Fire of Freedom
15 ratings
List Price: $11.98
Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XVR9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 23, 1996
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 3/93, p.77
Highly Recommended - "...the record's continuity lies in its sheer exuberance. A glorious debut..."
Q - 8/93, p.88
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...a batch of enormously detailed songs....the result is always passionate..."


  • 1.Livin' In America (Fordham Road 8:00 AM)
  • 2.Maria's Wedding
  • 3.Rockin' The Bronx
  • 4.Fanatic Heart
  • 5.Funky Ceili (Bridie's Song)
  • 6.Fire Of Freedom
  • 7.James Connolly
  • 8.Livin' In America (Bainbridge Avenue 2:00 AM)
  • 9.Banks Of The Hudson
  • 10.40 Shades Of Blue
  • 11.New York, NY 10009
  • 12.Sleep Tight In New York City / Her Dear Old Donegal
  • 13.Black 47
  • 14.Livin' In America

Product Description:

Black 47: Larry Kirwan (vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion); Chris Byrne (vocals, Uilleann pipes, tin whistle, bodhran); Geoffrey Blythe (soprano, tenor & baritone saxophones); Fred Parcells (vocals, tin whistle, trombone); David Conrad (bass); Thomas Hamlin (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Ric Ocasek (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Mike Fazio (guitar); Darryl Jenifer (keyboards, bass, background vocals); Deborah Berg, Sherryl Marshall, Emily Bindiger, Mary Martellom, Morning-Star Mary Courtney (background vocals).
Engineers include: Jon Goldberger, Johnny Byrne, David Heglmeier.
Originally released on SBK (80686).
No other band so succinctly captures the joys and travails of the Irish in America as New York's Black 47. The group's debut FIRES OF FREEDOM comprises romanticism and realism in equal parts. Black 47 unrolls heart-on-sleeve epics worthy of Springsteen while sparing none of the gritty details about the lives of the songs' subjects. Singer Larry Kirwan's urgent yelp sounds like a combo platter of Kevin Rowlands and Feargal Sharkey, and the expansive narrative form of his lyrics betrays his moonlighting playwright activities.
Black 47's sound is a collision of Irish flavoring (the band has a full- time Uillean pipes player) and '80s-ish rock. Producer Ric Ocasek further heightens the new-wave aspect of the latter. The songs' settings depict New York City and Ireland, reflecting the bicultural nature of the band. "Rockin' the Bronx" even ventures into hip-hop, as the group tells the story of its development and of clashes with pub owners who only want to hear traditional Irish music. Unfortunately, FIRE OF FREEDOM was Black 47's commercial peak, though the band soldiered on into the 21st century. The album remains a powerful slice of Irish-American life.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 077778068624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)