Beastie Boys Beastie Boys Anthology: The Sounds of Science (2-CD Box Set)

Beastie Boys Anthology: The Sounds of Science
136 ratings
Sale: $17.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.31 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $3.67 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  GXD6
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 23, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/9/99, p.75
3.5 stars out of 5 - " odds-and-ends compilation for committed fans....[It] covers most of the obvious career high's also [filled] with esoterica: more than a dozen B sides, unreleased tracks and rarities..."
Entertainment Weekly - 12/17/99, p.86
"...makes clear that while their music sometimes followed trends, more often it set them....startlingly consistent....demonstrates their greatest, most infectious quality - that they have unbridled creativity down to a science." - Rating: A+
Q - 1/00, pp.130-1
4 stars out of 5 - "...sneakily rewrites history...offering clues as to why this group are admired, respected and enjoyed..."
Uncut - 1/02, p.88
4 stars out of 5 - "...All this is necessary, the upshot of the Beasties' untamed, undiminished exuberance which has enabled them to splice together some of the best, most infectious and unlikeliest of sounds of the past two decades..."
Alternative Press - 2/00, p.76
4 out of 5 - " essential part of any collection....[It] does an admirable job of representing every facet of the Beasties' oeuvre..."
Muzik - 1/00, p.106
5 stars out of 5 - "...arrives in your CD player like a cluster bomb in a toy shop....high on the yelp-rap that has remained a constant thrill throughout their career....pretty much brilliant all the way..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 1/00, pp.90-2
"'s their sheer eclectic scope which impresses here, particularly on the many unreleased outakes, rarities and new tracks..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Beastie Boys
  • 2.Slow and Low
  • 3.Shake Your Rump
  • 4.Gratitude
  • 5.Skills to Pay the Bills
  • 6.Root Down
  • 7.Believe Me
  • 8.Sure Shot
  • 9.Body Movin' - (fatboy slim remix)
  • 10.Boomin' Granny
  • 11.Fight For Your Right
  • 12.Country Mike's Theme
  • 13.Pass the Mic
  • 14.Something's Got to Give
  • 15.Bodhisattva Vow
  • 16.Sabrosa
  • 17.Song For the Man
  • 18.Soba Violence
  • 19.Alive
  • 20.Jimmy James
  • 21.Three MC's and One DJ - (live, video version)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Biz vs. The Nuge
  • 2.Sabotage
  • 3.Shadrach
  • 4.Brass Monkey
  • 5.Time For Livin'
  • 6.Dub the Mic
  • 7.Benny and the Jets
  • 8.The Negotiation Limerick File
  • 9.I Want Some
  • 10.Rock Hard
  • 11.Son of Neckbone
  • 12.Get It Together
  • 13.Twenty Questions
  • 14.Remote Control
  • 15.Railroad Blues
  • 16.Live Wire
  • 17.So What'cha Want
  • 18.Netty's Girl
  • 19.Egg Raid on Mojo
  • 20.Hey Ladies
  • 21.Intergalactic

Product Description:

Full title: The Sounds Of Science: The Beastie Boys Anthology.
Beastie Boys: Adam "Ad-Rock" Horovitz (rap vocals, guitar); Adam "MCA" Yauch (rap vocals, bass); Mike "Mike D." Diamond (rap vocals, drums).
Additional personnel includes: Q-Tip, Biz Markie (rap vocals); Mark "Money Mark" Nishita (keyboards); Kate Schellebach (drums); Eric Bobo (percussion); Mix Master Mike (turntables); Amery Smith, Bucky Baxter, Brooke Williams, Nelson Keane Carse, Paul Vercesi.
Producers: Beastie Boys, Rick Rubin, Scott Jarvis, Fatboy Slim.
Engineers: Mario Caldato, Jr., Simon Thornton.
Includes liner notes and song annotations by The Beastie Boys.
"Alive" was nominated for the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Rap Performance by a Duo or Group.
Since emerging as a hard-core group from New York City's Lower East Side in 1980, the Beastie Boys have explored the worlds of rap, funk, and punk while simultaneously managing to influence music and society on a grander scale. SOUNDS OF SCIENCE documents all of the band's innovative turns on a beautifully packaged 2-CD set complete with a 77-page booklet brimming over with track-by-track commentary.
The care taken in documenting the band's activity up through 1999 is impressive. It's all here, including early punk sides ("Beastie Boys" and "Egg Raid on Mojo," featuring then-member Kate Schellenbach, later of Luscious Jackson), early marriages of rock riffs and hip-hop ("She's on It"), and the frat-goon success of LICENSED TO ILL ("Fight For Your Right," "Brass Monkey"). Also included is the unpredictable trio's groundbreaking work with the Dust Brothers on such mind-blowing sound collages as "Shake Your Rump" and "Shadrach" (presaging Beck by seven years). Even after the boys returned to playing instruments, the results bounced between fat-back instrumentals ("Sabrosa") and hard-rocking masterpieces ("Sabotage"). Throughout the '90s, hip-hop was never far away, whether it was with sci-fi bombs ("Intergalactic") or collaborations with like-minded rap visionaries like Q-Tip ("Get It Together").

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 136 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Beastie Boys

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 88,199
  • UPC: 724352294022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.47/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)