Ashford & Simpson Capitol Gold: The Best of Ashford & Simpson

Capitol Gold: The Best of Ashford & Simpson
16 ratings
Price: $17.98
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JSVY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 20, 1998
  • Label: EMI Gold Imports

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 11/93, p.142
3 Stars (out of 5) - "...[CAPITOL GOLD] collects the best of [Ashford & Simpson's] own output..."


  • 1.It Seems To Hang On
  • 2.Found A Cure
  • 3.Street Corner
  • 4.Love It Away
  • 5.I'll Take The Whole World On
  • 6.High-Rise
  • 7.Experience (Love Had No Face)
  • 8.My Kinda Pick Me Up
  • 9.Solid
  • 10.Outta The World
  • 11.Babies
  • 12.Count Your Blessings
  • 13.Nobody Walks In L.A.
  • 14.Love Or Physical
  • 15.Cookies And Cake
  • 16.I'll Be There For You

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
Digitally remastered by Wally Traugott (Capitol Recording Studios, Hollywood, California).
Liner Note Author: David Nathan.
Ashford & Simpson scored 33 entries on the R&B singles charts between 1973 and 1990, all but one of them on Warner Bros. or Capitol. This compilation licenses the two biggest hits from the duo's tenure at Warner, "It Seems to Hang On" and "Found a Cure," both of which hit the Top Ten, and features the eight Capitol titles that made the R&B Top 40 -- "Street Corner," "Love It Away," "High-Rise," "Solid," "Outta the World," "Babies," "Count Your Blessings," and "I'll Be There for You." There are also six tracks culled from the five Capitol albums, bringing the disc's time to over 71 minutes. In other words, this is about as comprehensive an overview of A&S's career as could be managed by one label on one disc. There are good biographical liner notes by compiler David Nathan. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ashford & Simpson

Product Info

  • UPC: 077778051527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)