Aretha Franklin The Essential 3.0: The Columbia Years (3-CD)

The Essential 3.0: The Columbia Years (3-CD)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  XW96
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: June 15, 2010
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Nobody Like You
  • 2.Once in a While (Please Answer Me)
  • 3.Maybe I'm a Fool
  • 4.Muddy Water
  • 5.Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home?
  • 6.Hard Times (No One Knows Better Than I)
  • 7.Today I Sing the Blues
  • 8.Won't Be Long
  • 9.Nobody Knows the Way I Feel This Morning
  • 10.Evil Gal Blues
  • 11.Lee Cross
  • 12.Walk on By
  • 13.I Wonder (Where Are You Tonight)
  • 14.God Bless the Child
  • 15.Blue Holiday
  • 16.Looking Through a Tear
  • 17.Tiny Sparrow
  • 18.Here Today and Gone Tomorrow
  • 19.Little Brown Book
  • 20.Without the One You Love

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.This Bitter Earth
  • 2.Just for a Thrill
  • 3.Skylark
  • 4.Skylark [Alternate Version]
  • 5.Trouble in Mind
  • 6.Runnin' Out of Fools
  • 7.Drinking Again
  • 8.Laughing on the Outside
  • 9.What a Diff'rence a Day Makes
  • 10.Soulville
  • 11.You'll Lose a Good Thing
  • 12.Take a Look
  • 13.Cry Like a Baby
  • 14.I Wish I Didn't Love You So
  • 15.Only the Lonely
  • 16.People [From Funny Girl]
  • 17.Mockingbird
  • 18.Until You Were Gone
  • 19.My Coloring Book
  • 20.Try a Little Tenderness

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.In My Solitude
  • 2.Love for Sale
  • 3.Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive
  • 4.Unforgettable
  • 5.All Night Long
  • 6.Every Little Bit Hurts
  • 7.Sweet Bitter Love
  • 8.If Ever I Would Leave You

Product Description:

Personnel: Aretha Franklin (piano); Lord Westbrook, Keeter Best, Kenny Burrell (guitar); Al Sears, Buddy Lucas (tenor saxophone); Ernie Royal (trumpet); Bob Asher, Tyree Glenn (trombone); Ernie Hayes (piano, organ); Ellis Larkins, Teddy Harris, Ray Bryant (piano); Paul Griffin (organ); Teddy Charles (vibraphone); Gary Chester , Sticks Evans, Hindel Butts, Osie Johnson (drums).
Audio Mixers: Leo Sacks; Mark Wilder.
Liner Note Authors: David Ritz; Nikki Giovanni.
Photographers: Don Hunstein; Hank Parker.
Aretha Franklin has simply been one of the greatest singers of her generation, and whether bringing her powerful, passionate voice to bear on gospel standards, songs from the Great American Songbook, jazz standards, pop ditties, or deep Southern soul and R&B, she has always had the presence -- much like Ray Charles -- to make anything she touches unmistakably hers. Franklin began her career in gospel when she was still a teenager, and her amazing vocal talents, coupled with her fine piano playing, marked her as a once-in-a-lifetime kind of artist, qualities very apparent to legendary talent scout John Hammond, who signed her to Columbia Records. The problem Hammond and Columbia immediately ran into, though, was how to best present that spirited voice to the secular pop world. Between 1960 and 1969 (her first release for the label was actually in 1961), Columbia tried Franklin in a variety of styles and settings, and if none of them exactly caught fire the way her legendary later sides for Atlantic Records would, they still allowed Franklin to explore a lot of avenues, and she was too good a singer not to be at least memorable in all of them. This three-disc set (two full-length discs and a third but shorter bonus disc) collects some of the more essential and interesting tracks from her Columbia period -- take away the eight-track bonus disc and it's the exact same set as the two-disc The Queen in Waiting: The Columbia Years 1960-1965 (right down to the cover art) from 2002. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Aretha Franklin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 85,509
  • UPC: 886976883027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)