Whitney Houston The Deluxe Anniversary Edition (2-CD)

Whitney Houston: The Deluxe Anniversary Edition
28 ratings
Price: $18.88
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XW8E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: January 26, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - p.69
"[A] delightful 1985 debut -- which featured gigantic hits like 'Greatest Love of All'..."
Q - 12/99, p.160
4 stars out of 5 - "...remains one of her best, featuring 'How Will I Know' and the genuinely moving tour-de-force, 'Greatest Love Of All'..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.You Give Good Love
  • 2.Thinking About You
  • 3.Someone for Me
  • 4.Saving All My Love for You
  • 5.Nobody Loves Me Like You Do
  • 6.How Will I Know
  • 7.All at Once
  • 8.Take Good Care of My Heart
  • 9.Greatest Love of All
  • 10.Hold Me
  • 11.Thinking About You [12" Dance Remix] - (remix)
  • 12.Someone for Me [12" dance remix] - (remix)
  • 13.How Will I Know [Acappella]
  • 14.How Will I Know [12" Dance Remix]
  • 15.Greatest Love of All [Live from the Arista Records 15th Anniversary Celebration, 1990] - (live)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Conversations with Whitney Houston and Clive Davis
  • 2.Home [Premiere TV Performance from The Merv Griffin Show, 1983]
  • 3.I Am Changing [Live from the Arista Records 10th Anniversary Celebration, 1985] - (live)
  • 4.You Give Good Love [Live from the 1st Annual Soul Train Awards, 1987] - (live)
  • 5.You Give Good Love [Video]
  • 6.Saving All My Love for You [Video]
  • 7.How Will I Know [Video]
  • 8.Greatest Love of All [Video]

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Whitney Houston, Cissy Houston (vocals); Michael Gibbs (conductor); Shambbu Neil Vineberg (acoustic guitar); Paul Pesco, Ira Siegel, Dan Huff, Corrado Rustici, Paul Jackson, Jr. (guitar); Kenny G, Vincent Henry (saxophone); Jerry Hey, Marc Russo, Wayne Wallace (horns); Robbie Buchanan (Fender Rhodes piano); Preston Glass (keyboards, string synthesizer, percussion, programming); Kashif, Ralph Schukett, Walter "Baby Love" Afanasieff (keyboards, synthesizer); Randy Jackson (synthesizer, bass); Jack Waldman, Fred Zarr (synthesizer); Roy Ayers (vibraphone); Marcus Miller, Nathan East (bass); Narada Michael Walden, Paul Leim (drums); Greg "Gigi" Gonaway (electronic drums, tambourine); Bashiri Johnson (percussion).
Producers include: Narada Michael Walden; Jellybean, Kashif, Michael Masser.
Engineers include: Darroll Gustamachio, Michael DeLugg, Dean Burt.
Liner Note Authors: Clive Davis ; Alan Light; Whitney Houston.
Recording information: Radio City Music Hall, New York, NY (03/09/1990).
Photographers: Neal Preston; Ron Galella; Richard Corman; Gary Gross; Richard Young ; Gunter W. Kienitz.
As big a hit as it was -- and it was a multi-platinum blockbuster, spinning off several chart-toppers -- it's not easy to think of Whitney Houston's 1985 debut as the dawning of a new era, but it was. Arriving in the thick of MTV, when the slick sounds of yacht-soul were fading, Whitney Houston is the foundation of diva-pop, straddling clean, cheery R&B and big ballads designed with the adult contemporary audience in mind. Houston's background lay in the former -- actually, it was even riskier, encompassing a stint with the experimental Bill Laswell outfit Material -- and her benefactor Clive Davis knew all about selling records to the masses. Appealing as this album is, Davis may never have imagined how Whitney Houston would shift tastes, pushing toward skyscraping ballads where the singer's affectations, not the songs, were paramount -- a move that later led to hollow records, but on Whitney Houston the songs were as important as the immaculate productions. Certainly, the showstopping "Greatest Love of All" provided the blueprint for decades of divas, but it's the only overblown moment here, with the rest of the ballads -- notably "Saving All My Love for You" and "You Give Good Love" -- burning slowly and seductively, but what really impresses some 20-plus years on are the lighter tracks, particularly the breakthrough single "How Will I Know" and the unheralded "Thinking About You," a dance/R&B hit co-written by Kashif that remains one of Whitney's purest pop pleasures. These joyful, rhythmic moments faded away from Houston's later work -- and also rarely surfaced on the records of those who followed her -- but their presence on this debut turns this into a fully rounded record, the rare debut that manages to telegraph every aspect of an artist's career in a mere ten songs. [The 2010 25th anniversary edition of Whitney Houston is expanded with five bonus tracks -- remixes of "Thinking About You," "Someone for Me," "How Will I Know," a live version of "Greatest Love of All" from 1990, and a superfluous a cappella mix of "How Will I Know" -- and a bonus DVD containing music videos from the album, new interviews, and -- best of all -- Whitney's star-making 1983 performance on The Merv Griffin Show.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Whitney Houston

Product Info

  • UPC: 886975890323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)