Leo Kottke The Instrumentals: The Best of the Chrysalis Years

The Instrumentals: The Best of the Chrysalis Years
3 ratings
Price: $12.05
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  K55X
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 10, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Airproofing
  • 2.Waltz
  • 3.Death by Reputation
  • 4.Fisherman, The - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 5.Up Tempo - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 6.A Low Thud
  • 7.Orange Room
  • 8.Whine
  • 9.Dolores
  • 10.The Train and the Gate
  • 11.Open Country Joy: Theme and Adhesions
  • 12.Wheels
  • 13.Palms Blvd.
  • 14.Strange
  • 15.Jib's Hat
  • 16.All I Have to Do Is Dream
  • 17.Memories Are Made of This
  • 18.Little Martha - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Leo Kottke (guitar); David Miner (bass); David Kemper (drums).
Producers: Denny Bruce, Kenneth Buttrey, Leo Kottke, T-Bone Burnett.
Compilation producer: Jerry Roche.
Recorded between 1976 & 1983. Includes liner notes by Jerry Roche.
Personnel: Leo Kottke (guitar); David Kemper (drums).
Recording information: Montreux Jazz Festival (1976-1983).
Leo Kottke's voice isn't for everyone, and has led a number of guitar freaks to borrow Frank Zappa's unkind phrase: "Shut up 'n play yer guitar." Instrumentals: The Best of the Chrysalis Years will speak to these fans, as it presents 18 pieces, from "Airproofing" in 1976 to "Memories Are Made of This" in 1983. To spice the package up a bit, the folks at Blue Note have added a live track, "The Fisherman," from a notable Montreux Jazz Festival performance in 1977, and a couple of unissued tracks, including Duane Allman's "Little Martha." While most of these pieces have been penned by Kottke, he also offers delightful versions of Norman Petty's "Wheels" and the Everly Brothers' favorite "All I Have to Do Is Dream." All of Kottke's stylistic gifts come into play on Instrumentals. There's electric slide on "Whine," the use of a lovely open-tuning on "Dolores," and the clean ambience and warmth of "Strange." The tracks flow in chronological order, allowing the listener to follow the guitarist's evolution over his eight years with Chrysalis; and while the albums he recorded during this time may lack the edginess of his earlier material, the pieces on Instrumentals are consistently fresh and invigorating. Guitar hero wannabes, of course, will buy the album for the extra tracks; everyone else will find it a rewarding introduction to mid-period Kottke. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Leo Kottke

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 121,239
  • UPC: 724354231322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)