Tammi Terrell Come on and See Me: The Complete Solo Collection (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
10 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $39.98
SALE PRICE: $34.23
You Save: $5.75 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  HPOS 499472

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 19, 2010
  • Label: Hip-O Select

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - p.52
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he young Philadelphian defines the possibilities of romantic love with a precocious strength within mostly delightful songs written and performed by the Motown varsity teams."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.114
4 stars out of 5 -- "She sang in James Brown's road revue and revealed immense commercial potential as a nascent Motown star on IRRESISTIBLE..."
Uncut (magazine) - p.88
4 stars out of 5 -- "The opening minute of 'I Can't Believe You Love Me' breaks your heart."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.If You See Bill
  • 2.It's Mine
  • 3.Voice of Experience
  • 4.I Wancha' to Be Sure
  • 5.Sinner's Devotion
  • 6.Make the Night a Little Longer
  • 7.Big John
  • 8.I Cried
  • 9.If You Don't Think
  • 10.If I Would Marry You [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.This Time Tomorrow [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.I've Got Nothing to Say But Goodbye - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.I Can't Hold It in Any More - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.If I Would Marry You - (previously unreleased, featuring Jimmy Radcliffe)
  • 15.I Can't Believe You Love Me
  • 16.That's What Boys Are Made For
  • 17.Come on and See Me
  • 18.What a Good Man He is
  • 19.Tears at the End of a Love Affair
  • 20.This Old Heart of Mine (Is Weak for You)
  • 21.He's the One I Love
  • 22.Can't Stop Now (Love Is Calling)
  • 23.Just Too Musc to Hope For
  • 24.Hold Me Oh My Darling
  • 25.I Can't Go on Without You
  • 26.Baby Don'tcha Worry [Stereo Version]
  • 27.There Are Things [Stereo Version]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ain't No Mountain High Enough
  • 2.All I Do Is Think About You
  • 3.Slow Down
  • 4.I Gotta Find a Way (To Get You Back)
  • 5.Oh How I'd Miss You
  • 6.Lone, Lonely Town
  • 7.You Ain't Livin' 'Till You're Lovin' [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Give in You Just Can't Win [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.When Love Comes Knocking at My Heart [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.Memory Chest [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.That's How It Is (Since You've Been Gone) [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.More, More, More [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Two Can Have a Party [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.My Heart [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.Don't Let Me Be Lonely [Stereo Version] - (previously unreleased)
  • 16.Kissing in the Shadows - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.Beware of a Stranger - (previously unreleased)
  • 18.It's Been a Long Time Happenin' - (previously unreleased)
  • 19.Almost Like Being in Love [Live at the Roostertail] - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 20.Stage Dialogue with Emcee Scott Regan [Live at the Roostertail] - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 21.I Can't Believe You Love Me [Live at the Roostertail] - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 22.Medley: What a Difference a Day Makes / Runnin' Out of Fools / Tell Me the Truth / Baby Love [Live at the Roostertail] - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 23.Come on and See Me [Live at the Roostertail] - (previously unreleased, live)

Product Description:

Audio Mixers: Obie O'Brien; Tom Moulton.
Liner Note Authors: Keith Hughes; Daphne Brooks.
Recording information: Hitsville U.S.A Studios, Detroit (09/19/1966); Roostertail, Detroit, MI (09/19/1966).
Photographer: J. Randy Taraborrelli.
Hip-O Select's 2010 set Come on and See Me: The Complete Solo Collection rounds up everything Tammi Terrell recorded on her own at Motown: the first disc contains 14 songs she recorded under the name Tammy Montgomery plus the Irresistible LP and two non-LP singles, "Baby Don'tcha Worry" and "There Are Things," while the second disc has 18 cuts of Rare Motown capped off by Live at the Roostertail. Terrell's trajectory is not dissimilar to other Motown artists of the '60s -- some of her earliest singles bear a bit of a heavy pop crossover bent, a trait amplified by the live supperclub showcase tacked on the end of this set, and she got looser and funkier as the decade rolled on, but even those early uptown shuffles are elevated by Terrell's authoritative stamp. Surely, she was one of the few female soul singers who could take James Brown on and get a TKO, as she did on 1963's "If You Don't Think," and some of the other early Montgomery sides are every bit as funky, but the centerpiece of this set is the Irresistible LP, where Terrell brought that spirit to snazzy, sophisticated pop-soul productions. Irresistible boasts some of the thickest productions Motown issued in 1967, but it's underpinned by a heavy groove and graced with Terrell's terrific singing. Apart from that perfectly fine, not necessarily compelling, live performance, the second disc has more unissued gems in this vein: it's big, bright, lush, and powerful, the sound of Motown in full flight. On the basis of her duets with Marvin Gaye alone, Tammi Terrell's reputation is quite high, but this dynamic set proves that she was equally good as a solo act. Truthfully, sometimes she was even better on her own. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Tammi Terrell

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 34,939
  • UPC: 602527499475
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: