Pato Banton Collections [Virgin]

Collections [Virgin]
10 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  V783
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Baby Come Back
  • 2.Bubbling Hot
  • 3.Don't Sniff Coke
  • 4.Tudo de Bom
  • 5.Wize Up!
  • 6.One World (Not Three)
  • 7.Roots, Rock, Reggae
  • 8.Gwarn!
  • 9.Go Pato
  • 10.Bad Man and Woman - (new version)
  • 11.Never Give In
  • 12.Save Your Soul
  • 13.All Drugs Out
  • 14.Pato's Opinion, Pt. 2

Product Description:

Personnel: Pato Banton, Andre Derizans, Solange, David Hinds, Ranking Roger (vocals); Eric Fowler (guitar); Michael Railton (keyboards); Stoker (programming); Evaristo "Branco" Katona, Mikey, Steve, Alexandre Derizans, "Mrs. Branco" Barbara Rosa, Eduardo Katona, Thiago Katona (background vocals); Ali Campbell, Robin Campbell.
The Reggae Revolution: Paul "Salomon" Mullings (guitar); James Renford (saxophone); Steven Morrison (trombone); Michael "Mikey" Nanton (keyboards); Amlak Tafari (bass); David "Skins" Forskins (drums, background vocals); Raymond "Bongo Simeon" Walker (percussion).
Producers: Stoker, Pato Banton, G. T. Haynes, The Reggae Revolution, Drummie Zeb.
Engineers: Stoker, Roberto Lly, Julio Teixeira.
Includes liner notes by Sig Sigworth.
Personnel: Pato Banton (vocals); Al Campbell (vocals, guitar); Eduardo Katona, Barbosa Rosa, Thiago Katona, Andre Derizans, Solange (vocals); Eric Fowler, Paul Mullings, Robin Campbell (guitar); James Renford (saxophone); Steve Morrison (trombone, background vocals); Michael Nanton (keyboards, background vocals); Michael Railton (keyboards); David Foreskins (drums, background vocals); Raymond Walker (percussion); Evaristo Katona, Alexandre Derizans (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Drummie Zeb; G.T. Haynes; Pato Banton.
Liner Note Author: Sig Sigworth.
Recording information: Aire L.A. Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Rich Bitch Studios, Birmingham, England; Studio Caverna, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil.
Photographer: Hugh Brown .
This compilation grabs the best of Pato Banton, sweeping back to the DJ's debut in 1988 and bringing it forward with cuts recorded in 1994. There's 14 tracks in all, nicely weighted between earlier cultural material, uplifting anthems, and the humor-laced numbers. From the militant "Never Give In" to the unifying "One World (Not Three)" and on to the seminal comic routine of "Don't Sniff Coke," the listener is treated to every facet of the performer. Banton's music has changed dramatically over the years, beginning with solid roots and diversifying from there. Flashes of funk, sophisticated R&B, dancehall, and rap would slide in over time, but the beats have never flagged and the songs remain decidedly danceable. As a bonus there's a soca-fied version of the old favorite "Bad Man and Woman" and a pair of new songs -- the dancehall-flavored "Tudo De Bom" and an exhilarating cover of the Equals' hit "Baby Come Back," which guest stars three members of UB40. What more could listeners ask for? ~ Jo-Ann Greene

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 724382705529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)