The Sons of the Pioneers Symphonies of the Sage

Symphonies of the Sage
2 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FX3X
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Bloodshot Records


  • Buy for $0.991.When Payday Rolls Around
  • Buy for $0.992.Sagebrush Symphony
  • Buy for $0.993.Song of the Bandit
  • Buy for $0.994.Ne-Ha-Nee
  • Buy for $0.995.The Howlin' Pup
  • Buy for $0.996.Rocky Mountain Express
  • Buy for $0.997.One More Ride
  • Buy for $0.998.So Long to the Red River Valley
  • Buy for $0.999.Coyote Sernade
  • Buy for $0.9910.South in My Soul
  • Buy for $0.9911.Cool Water
  • Buy for $0.9912.Rainbow Over the Range
  • Buy for $0.9913.Happy Cowboy
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Texas Crapshooter
  • Buy for $0.9915.At the Old Barn Dance
  • Buy for $0.9916.Move Along You Lazy Cattle
  • Buy for $0.9917.Swingin' the Bow
  • Buy for $0.9918.Whoopee Ti Yi Yo
  • Buy for $0.9919.Jubilation Jamboree
  • Buy for $0.9920.Bound for Rio Grande
  • Buy for $0.9921.Cactus Swing
  • Buy for $0.9922.Ridin' Down the Canyon
  • Buy for $0.9923.Saddle Your Worries to the Wind
  • Buy for $0.9924.Cajon Stomp
  • Buy for $0.9925.Trail Dreamin'

Product Description:

The Sons Of The Pioneers: Hugh Farr, Pat Brady, Karl Farr, Tim Spencer, Bob Nolan, Lloyd Perryman.
Includes liner notes by Greg Adams.
Liner Note Author: Greg Adams .
There's a fascinating mix of the old and new on Symphonies of the Sage, 25 radio transcriptions that the Sons of the Pioneers recorded in 1940. First there are the dreamy vocal harmonies of Tim Spencer, Lloyd Perryman, and Bob Nolan conjuring up images of lazy cattle, tumblin' tumbleweeds, and miles of endless prairie. Then there's the instrumental finesse of fiddler Hugh Farr and string-bending guitarist Karl Farr. Songs like the title cut and "Whoopee Ti Yi Yo" feature the Sons of the Pioneers' trademark vocals blending smoothly against a steady swinging beat. Instrumentals like "Cajon Stomp" up the ante on swing and share a common ground with Django Reinhardt and Stephane Grappelli's Hot Club work (with the exception being that Farr's guitar is electric on certain cuts). This dynamic combination of traditional harmonies and cutting-edge musicianship will get the blood of the oldest cowboy pumping. Classics like "Happy Cowboy" and "Cool Water" hold up well after 60 years, while the melancholy harmony of the Pioneers can still bring a tear to the eye of the most hardened ranch hand. Greg Adams' liner notes offer a nice historical backdrop to understand how a cowboy band blew into the Windy City in July of 1941. Symphonies of the Sage captures a number of dynamic performances by the Sons of the Pioneers and will be warmly welcomed by cowboys and cowgirls alike. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Sons of the Pioneers

Product Info

  • UPC: 744302080826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)