Meat Puppets Meat Puppets (Bonus Tracks)

Meat Puppets (Bonus Tracks)
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.54 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $2.45 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XWHH
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: MVD Audio

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 3/26/99, p.87
"...Part ZZ Top on peyote, part Grateful Dead on steroids, the guitar-driven trio's eccentric genius emerges on [this] souped-up rerelease..." - Rating: A-
The Wire - 5/99, p.62
" stood as one of the most exciting hardcore albums ever this CD revision which more than doubles its length with 12 extra becomes apparent that Meat Puppets always had a richer sense of Americana to draw from than punkthrash..."


  • Buy for $1.291.Reward
  • Buy for $1.292.Love Offering
  • Buy for $1.293.Blue Green God
  • Buy for $1.294.Walking Boss
  • Buy for $1.295.Melons Rising
  • Buy for $1.296.Saturday Morning
  • Buy for $1.297.Our Friends
  • Buy for $1.298.Tumbling Tumbleweeds
  • Buy for $1.299.Milo, Sorghum and Maize
  • Buy for $1.2910.Meat Puppets
  • Buy for $1.2911.Playing Dead
  • Buy for $1.2912.Litterbox
  • Buy for $1.2913.Electromud
  • Buy for $1.2914.The Gold Mine
  • Buy for $1.2915.In A Car
  • Buy for $1.2916.Big House
  • Buy for $1.2917.Dolphin Field
  • Buy for $1.2918.Out in the Gardener
  • Buy for $1.2919.Foreign Lawns
  • Buy for $1.2920.Meat Puppets
  • Buy for $1.2921.Everybody's Talking
  • Buy for $1.2922.H - Elenore
  • Buy for $1.2923.Hair
  • Buy for $1.2924.I Got A Right
  • Buy for $1.2925.I Am A Child
  • Buy for $1.2926.Franklin's Tower
  • Buy for $1.2927.Milo Sorghum and Maize
  • Buy for $1.2928.Electromud
  • Buy for $1.2929.Love Offering
  • Buy for $1.2930.Saturday Morning
  • Buy for $1.2931.Magic Toy Missing
  • Buy for $1.2932.Unpleasant

Product Description:

This 1999 remastered edition of MEAT PUPPETS is an Enhanced CD [ECD] that includes bonus tracks, the 1981 7-inch release IN A CAR and a video for "Walking Boss," filmed at a concert at Target Video in San Francisco, California.
Meat Puppets: Curt Kirkwood (vocals, guitar); Cris Kirkwood (vocals, bass); Derrick Bostrom (drums).
Additional personnel: Steve Thomsen (keyboards).
Producers include: Laurie O'Connell, Ed Barger, Montior.
Engineers include: Spot, Ed Barger, Darrell DeMarco.
Recorded between 1980 and 1999. Includes liner notes by Derrick Bostrom.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Curt Kirkwood (vocals, guitar); Cris Kirkwood (vocals); Derrick Bostrom (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Derrick Bostrom; Mark Coleman; Gregg Turkington.
Recording information: Desert Sound Studio (01/13/1981); Silver Lake Studio (01/13/1981); Unicorn Studio (01/13/1981); Desert Sound Studio (03/18/1982); Silver Lake Studio (03/18/1982); Unicorn Studio (03/18/1982); Desert Sound Studio (05/1981); Silver Lake Studio (05/1981); Unicorn Studio (05/1981); Desert Sound Studio (06/04/1981); Silver Lake Studio (06/04/1981); Unicorn Studio (06/04/1981); Desert Sound Studio (08/1980); Silver Lake Studio (08/1980); Unicorn Studio (08/1980); Desert Sound Studio (11/24/1981); Silver Lake Studio (11/24/1981); Unicorn Studio (11/24/1981).
Photographers: Naomi Peterson; Neal Holiday.
The Meat Puppets were one of the very best bands to rise from the American punk/indie underground (and the SST Records roster) in the 1980s, but they didn't get to be brilliant overnight, and their self-titled debut album is the sound of a talented band still scrambling to find its voice. Most of the elements that would make the Meat Puppets worthwhile are here -- the shared fondness for the speed and energy of punk rock, the space and flexibility of psychedelia, and the twangy amiability of country -- but they sure hadn't figured out how to work out the proportions and fit all the pieces together, and on most of Meat Puppets the band sounds like a bunch of kids all cranked up on Mountain Dew, bouncing around the room but not sure what to do as a group. When in doubt, here the Puppets simply charge forward as fast as they can, and this is easily the most "punk"-sounding album they would make, but the clarity doesn't make a virtue of this, not surprising from a band that so cherished eclecticism. And when Curt Kirkwood isn't sure what direction to take with a song vocally, here he opts to attack it with an indecipherable bray or by blubbering like a mush-mouthed yokel, and he ends up shooting his own performances in the foot. The band was already tight and emphatic, and Curt's guitar work is fluid and muscular on these tunes, while his brother Cris Kirkwood on bass and Derrick Bostrom on drums give him the proper support whether he's meandering through "Walking Boss" or "Tumblin' Tumbleweeds," charging at hardcore velocity through "Melons Rising" or "Playing Dead," or taking several paths in between. Meat Puppets isn't a bad debut, but considering how much better and more interesting they would become in a very short time, it's more of a curiosity in their catalog than anything else. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Meat Puppets

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 113,990
  • UPC: 760137525325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)