Gov't Mule The Deepest End: Live in Concert (3-CD)

The Deepest End: Live in Concert (3-CD)
9 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
sku:  ATRD 21222
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Ato Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bad Little Doggie
  • 2.Game Face
  • 3.Larger Than Life
  • 4.Blindman In The Dark
  • 5.Which Way Do We Run?
  • 6.Fool's Moon
  • 7.Sco-Mule
  • 8.Patchwork Quilt
  • 9.Lay Of The Sunflower
  • 10.John The Revelator

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Beautifully Broken
  • 2.Time To Confess
  • 3.Banks Of The Deep End
  • 4.32/20 Blues
  • 5.Goin' Down
  • 6.Slow Happy Boys
  • 7.I Shall Return
  • 8.Trying Not To Fall
  • 9.Drivin' Rain
  • 10.Soulshine

Product Description:

This release includes a bonus DVD.
Gov't Mule: Warren Hayes (vocals, guitar); Matt Abts (drums); Danny Louis (keyboards).
Additional personnel includes: Jack Casady, Les Claypool, Karl Denson, Dirty Dozen Brass Band Horns, Bela Fleck, Roger Glover, Mike Gordon, David Hildago, Paul Jackson, Sonny Landreth, Conrad Lazano, Will Lee, Jason Newsted.
Recorded live at The Saenger Theatre, New Orleans, Louisiana, May 3, 2003.
Personnel: Warren Haynes (vocals, guitar, slide guitar); David Hidalgo (vocals, guitar); Les Claypool (vocals); Sonny Landreth (slide guitar); B‚la Fleck (electric banjo); Karl Denson (flute, tenor saxophone); Roger Lewis (baritone saxophone); Efrem Towns (trumpet); Fred Wesley, Sammie Williams (trombone); Julius McKee (sousaphone); Danny Louis (Clavinet, keyboards, background vocals); Bernie Worrell (organ, keyboards); Ivan Neville (keyboards); Matt Abts (drums); George Porter, Jr. (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Michael Barbiero.
Liner Note Author: Warren Haynes.
Recording information: The Saenger Theatre, New Orleans, LA (05/03/2003).
Editors: Amy Weller; Jon Obenchain.
Photographer: Michael Weintraub.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Randy Ward; John Johnson ; Chris Hanson.
Arrangers: Efrem Towns; Julius McKee; Matt Abts; Roger Lewis; Warren Haynes; Sammie Williams.
When Gov't Mule bassist Allen Woody passed away, bandmates Warren Haynes and Matt Abts chose to go forward to keep the memory of their friend alive. Rather than initially replacing Woody outright, they instead invited a number of famous bass players who were both friends and influences on their friends to play on a two-part project called THE DEEP END. After touring and having these numerous guests pop up to periodically play with the Mule on the road, ATO Records got smart and recorded the May 3rd, 2003 show at the Saenger Theatre in New Orleans for a package called (not surprisingly), THE DEEPEST END: LIVE IN CONCERT. Joined by plenty of surprise guests, including Les Claypool, Karl Denson, the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, and Bela Fleck, the Mule runs through two discs worth of tunes that include the jazz-flavored "Sco-Mule," chugging rocker "Bad Little Doggie" and the Dead-flavored Haynes/Robert Hunter collaboration "Lay of the Sunflower." Most touching is the heartfelt "Soulshine," with Haynes' gritty vocals raising plenty of goose bumps on this wholly appropriate set-ending song. For those unable to attend any of these shows, there is a bonus DVD included to give listeners a look at this special concert experience.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Gov't Mule

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 98,982
  • UPC: 791022151725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)