Gov't Mule Deep End, Volume 2 [CD + Enhanced CD] (2-CD)

Deep End, Volume 2 [CD + Enhanced CD] (2-CD)
28 ratings
Only 6 copies left
Sale: $11.68
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.33 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $2.65 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36Y7G
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 8, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ato Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 2/20/03, p.61
4 stars out of 5 - "...Thirteen different ways to appreciate the phenomenally gifted Haynes..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Trying Not to Fall
  • 2.Time to Confess
  • 3.Greasy Granny's Gopher Gravy, Pt. 1
  • 4.Greasy Granny's Gopher Gravy, Pt. 2
  • 5.What Is Hip?
  • 6.World of Confusion
  • 7.Hammer and Nails
  • 8.Slow Happy Boys
  • 9.Sun Dance
  • 10.Lay of the Sunflower
  • 11.Catfish Blues
  • 12.Which Way Do We Run?
  • 13.Babylon Turnpike

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Drivin' Rain - (featuring James Hetfield / Les Claypool)
  • 2.Rocking Horse - (featuring Dave Schools / Chuck Leavell)
  • 3.Lay Your Burden Down - (featuring Dave Schools / Chuck Leavell)
  • 4.Sco-Mule - (DJ Logic Remix, DJ Logic remix, featuring Chris Wood / John Scofield / Bernie Worrell)

Product Description:

Disc 2 is an Enhanced CD, which contains regular audio tracks as well as multimedia computer files.
Gov't Mule: Warren Hayes (vocals, guitar); Matt Abts (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel includes: Les Claypool (vocals, bass); James Hetfield, John Scofield, Gary Lucas (guitar); David Grisman (mandolin); Danny Louis, John Medeski (Wurlitzer piano, organ); Rob Barraco, Pete Sears (piano); Johnny Neel, Chuck Leavell, Art Neville, Bernie Worell (organ); Me'Shell N'Degeocello, Rocco Prestia, Jack Casady, Tony Levin, George Porter, Jr., Chris Squire, Phil Lesh, Jason Newsted, Billy Cox, Dave Schools (bass); Alphonso Johnson (electric upright bass).
Producers: Michael Barbiero, Warren Haynes, Les Claypool, John Cutler.
Recorded at The Theater 99, Chung King Studios, and River Sound, New York, New York; In The Pocket Studio, Forestville, California.
Personnel: Warren Haynes (vocals, guitar); James Hetfield, Les Claypool (vocals); Gary Lucas , John Scofield (guitar); David Grisman (mandolin); Johnny Neel (piano, organ); Rob Barraco, Pete Sears (piano); Danny Louis (organ, Wurlitzer organ); Chuck Leavell, Bernie Worrell (organ, keyboards); John Medeski (organ); Jason Newsted (electric bass); Matt Abts (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Les Claypool; Michael Barbiero; Ray Martin; Ross Hogarth; Warren Haynes.
Recording information: Chung King Studios, New York, NY; In The Pocket Studio, Forestville, CA; In The Pocket, Forestville, CA; Orpheum Theatre, New Orleans, LA; River Sound, New York, NY; The Theatre 99, New York, NY.
Editor: Steve Fallone.
Photographers: Patrick Haley; Joe Naftzger; Paul Blaker; Edward Smith; Danny Clinch.
Arrangers: Matt Abts; Warren Haynes.
Originally conceived as a tribute to Gov't Mule bassist Allen Woody, the second portion of this ambitious project continues to feature some of the biggest names in the music industry filling in for the late musician. Much like its predecessor, THE DEEP END, VOL.2 finds founding members Warren Haynes and Matt Abts digging deep into their collective Rolodexes to enlist a dizzying range of musicians to sit in on this mix of original material and covers. Notable performances include Tower Of Power's Francis Rocco Prestia holding down the bottom on a chugging cover of his group's smash "What Is Hip?" and Alphonso Johnson using an electric stand-up bass to lead a quartet through the tasty jazz original "Babylon Turnpike."
Throughout, Haynes' gruff vocals and screaming, crying guitar serve as this project's glue. He shines whether he's joining Me'Shell NdegeOcello and John Medeski on a low-key stroll through the languid "Hammer And Nails" or joining forces with co-writer/keyboardist Johnny Neel and Yes bassist Chris Squire on the prog-like instrumental majesty of "Sun Dance." Best of all is "Lay Of The Sunflower," a Haynes/Robert Hunter composition featuring erstwhile Grateful Dead bassman Phil Lesh and mandolin master David Grisman.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Gov't Mule

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,405
  • UPC: 791022150728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)