Yes The Ladder

The Ladder
282 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  64CAC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Beyond Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 10/99, p.99
" again are Chris Squire's elastic bass, Steve Howe's skittering rock-jazz guitar and Jon Anderson's high-altitude vocals....generally the results sound pretty good....younger prog pretenders could still learn a lot from the old masters."


  • 1.Homeworld (The Ladder)
  • 2.It Will Be a Good Day (The River)
  • 3.Lightning Strikes
  • 4.Can I?
  • 5.Face to Face
  • 6.If Only You Knew
  • 7.To Be Alive (Hep Yadda)
  • 8.Finally
  • 9.The Messenger
  • 10.New Language
  • 11.Nine Voices (Longwalker)

Product Description:

This is an Enhanced audio CD which contains regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Yes: Steve Howe (vocals, acoustic, electric & steel guitars, mandolin); Billy Sherwood (vocals, guitar); Igor Khoroshek (vocals, keyboards) Chris Squire (vocals, bass); Alan White (vocals, drums, percussion); Jon Anderson (vocals).
Additional personnel: Randy Raine-Reusch (various instruments); Rhys Fulber (loops).
The Marguerita Horns: Tom Colclough (alto saxophone); Tom Keenlyside (tenor saxophone, piccolo); Derry Burns (trumpet); Rod Murray (trombone); Neil Nicholson (tuba).
Recorded at Armoury Studios, Vancouver, Canada from February-May 1999.
Yes return to classic form on THE LADDER, an album that features the kinds of chord changes, technical virtuosity, and vocal harmonies that brought the band to prominence. Bruce Fairbairn (Aerosmith, Bon Jovi, Cranberries), who passed away in May, 1999, made his last production job a memorable one.
Billy Sherwood and Igor Khoroshev join the classic lineup of Jon Anderson, Steve Howe, Chris Squire, and Alan White. "Homeworld (The Ladder)" is a 9-minute opus that changes from straight-ahead rock to a piano melody, and is reminiscent of the band's early-'70s progressive work. "Lightning Strikes" has a ska feel to it, while "Can I?" is a world music reworking of the band's own "We Have Heaven." "Face To Face" is a fantastic classic rock tune, and "If You Only Knew" is a wonderfully commercial ballad. Like the title track, "New Language" is another epic track featuring the keyboard talents of Mr. Khoroshev. Yes is a band that recently celebrated its 30th anniversary and has never stopped experimenting. THE LADDER is proof of this, with the group sounding as fresh as ever.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 282 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Yes

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 79,471
  • UPC: 639857804624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)