Phil Vassar Shaken Not Stirred

Shaken Not Stirred
26 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Q49R
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Arista


  • Buy for $0.991.Good Ole Days
  • Buy for $0.992.In A Real Love
  • Buy for $0.993.What Happens In Vegas
  • Buy for $0.994.I'll Take That As A Yes (The Hot Tub Song)
  • Buy for $0.995.Erase
  • Buy for $0.996.Here To Forget
  • Buy for $0.997.I Miss The Innocence
  • Buy for $0.998.Amazing Grace
  • Buy for $0.999.Nobody Knows Me Like You
  • Buy for $0.9910.Dancin' With Dreams
  • Buy for $0.9911.Gone By Dawn
  • Buy for $0.9912.Black And Whites

Product Description:

Personnel: Phil Vassar (vocals, piano, synthesizer); Phil Vassar; Jeff Smith , Jeff Smith (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Jim "Moose" Brown (piano, Wurlitzer piano, Clavinet, Hammond b-3 organ, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards); Clayton Ryder (piano, organ, keyboards); Steve Nathan , Clayton Ryder (keyboards); Darren Theriault (bass instrument); Glenn Worf (bass guitar); Shannon Forrest (drums); Nick Brophy (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Bryan Sutton (acoustic guitar, mandolin); Robert Byrne (acoustic guitar); Russ Pahl (electric guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar); Jeff King (electric guitar); Matt Thomas (mandolin, fiddle); Larry Franklin (fiddle); Tim Akers (piano, organ, keyboards); Angelo Collura (drums); Eric Darken (percussion); Julie Wood Vassar, Wes Hightower, Russell Terrell (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Nick Brophy; Justin Niebank.
In many cases, professional songwriters' albums serve as little more than showcases for material best performed by more established artists. Not so in the case of Phil Vassar, who in addition to being a hit-making singer, is one of Nashville's most respected tunesmiths. As might be expected, considering that Vassar's main instrument is the piano, there are shades of Elton John, Michael McDonald, and Billy Joel throughout, with the poignant "Here to Forget" sounding like a world-weary relative of "Piano Man." Like McDonald, the Virginia vocalist has a powerfully soulful voice, which he uses to great bluesy effect on "Good Ole Days" and "Erase" (which might not sound out of place as a ballad on a Lenny Kravitz album). "Nobody Knows Me Like You," on the other hand, is old-school pop-country that finds Vassar crooning in a strong baritone reminiscent of Charlie Rich and Ronnie Milsap. Lyrically, SHAKEN NOT STIRRED is in another class altogether, compared to many contemporary country albums. Even "What Happens in Vegas" turns an old cliche into something fresh, relating the story of a woman who leaves behind her abusive boyfriend to find true love in Sin City.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 26 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Phil Vassar

Product Info

  • UPC: 828766159127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)