Soul Food [Original Soundtrack]
by Various Artists

Soul Food [Original Soundtrack]
21 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 49024
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 15, 1997
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 11/97, pp.144-146
6 (out of 10) - "...Kenneth 'Babyface' Edmonds, who produced, wrote or cowrote seven of this album's 13 tracks,...aims...his the cloistered sanctity of the middle-class parlor....Babyface's ballads...are a kind of integration by melodrama....his music is the ultimate in middle-class insulation..."
Entertainment Weekly - 9/19/97, p.82
"...SOUL FOOD is full of fresh grooves and tasty hooks, [but] it lacks the focus that made [WAITING TO] EXHALE such a breathtaking album....SOUL FOOD seems more like a smorgasbord than a single-course soundtrack. There's a little bit of everything here, from salty rap to sweet soul balladry..." - Rating: B+
Rap Pages - 11/97, p.110
"...a quintessential album defining Hip-Hop soul prepared by a master chef who can burn tracks much like Roscoe does on his best day with chicken and waffles..."


  • 1.Song for Mama, A - Boyz II Men
  • 2.Call Me - Jay-Z/Blackstreet (Hip Hop Mix)
  • 3.I Care 'Bout You - Milestone
  • 4.What About Us - Total
  • 5.Don't Stop What You're Doing - Lil' Kim / Diddy / Puff Daddy
  • 6.We're Not Making Love No More - Dru Hill
  • 7.Baby I - Tenderoni
  • 8.Let's Do It Again - Xscape
  • 9.In Due Time - Cee Lo / OutKast
  • 10.Slow Jam - Monica / Usher
  • 11.Boys and Girls - Tony! Toni! Ton‚!
  • 12.You Are the Man - En Vogue
  • 13.September - Earth, Wind & Fire

Product Description:

Personnel: Total, Usher (vocals, background vocals); Jay-Z, Kelly Price (vocals); Babyface (guitar, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards, drum programming, background vocals); Raphael Saadiq (guitar, background vocals); Darryl Pearson, Graig Love, Michael Thompson (guitar); Greg Phillinganes (piano, Wurlitzer organ); Christopher "Tricky" Stewart, Laney Stewart (keyboards, drum programming); Andr‚ Benjamin (drums, keyboard programming); Kalifani (congas); Stevie J, Teddy Riley (programming); Crystal Wilson, Dru Hill, Jojo , Melvin, Kevon, K-Ci & JoJo, Monica , Cee Lo Green (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Neil Pogue; Jermaine Dupri; Jimmy Douglas; Jon Gass; Lane Craven; Phil Tan; Timbaland; Tony Maserati ; John Hanes .
Recording information: Brandon's Way Recording Studios, L.A., CA; Chicago Recording Co., Chicago, IL; KrossWire Studio, Atlanta, GA; Manhattan Center Studios, NY; MasterSound Studios, Virginia Beach, VA; Patchwerk Recording Studio, Atlanta, GA; Studio LaCoCo, Atlanta, GA.
Arrangers: Chauncey Hannibal; Teddy Riley.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 19,738
  • UPC: 886974902423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

R&B: Contemporary Music Categories:

Top ranking titles in the Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)