Hall & Oates Our Kind of Soul

Our Kind of Soul
88 ratings
Hurry! Only 6 copies left Sorry no back-orders
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $9 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  ZHUS 48010
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: U-Watch Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.102
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]heir poised take on the old Stylistics' hit 'You Are Everything', for example, is a masterstroke..."


  • 1.Let Love Take Control
  • 2.Standing in the Shadows of Love
  • 3.I'll Be Around
  • 4.Used to Be My Girl
  • 5.Soul Violins
  • 6.I Can Dream About You
  • 7.Don't You Turn Your Back on Me
  • 8.Fading Away
  • 9.Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye)
  • 10.After the Dance
  • 11.Rock Steady
  • 12.Love TKO
  • 13.What You See Is What You Get
  • 14.Can't Get Enough of Your Love
  • 15.You Are Everything
  • 16.I'm Still in Love With You
  • 17.O-O-H Child

Product Description:

Personnel: T-Bone Wolk (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Jeff Catania, Bobby Eli (electric guitar); Cenovia Cummins , Carol Pool (violin); Stephanie Cummins, Sarah Hewitt Ruth (cello); Charles DeChant, Lenny Pickett (horns); Greg Bieck (keyboards, string synthesizer, programming, drum programming); David Sancious (keyboards, background vocals); Steve Jordan (drums); Daryl Hall (vocals, acoustic guitar, strings, keyboards, background vocals); John Oates (vocals, electric guitar, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Robert Shaw (violin); Charlie DeChant (horns); T-Bone Wolk (bass instrument); Steve Jordan , David Sancious, Lenny Pickett , Cenovia Cummins , Stephanie Cummins, Greg Bieck, Jeff Catania, Carol Pool, Sarah Hewitt Ruth, Bobby Eli.
Audio Mixer: Greg Bieck.
Recording information: A-Pawling Studio, Pawling, NY; Clubhouse Studio, Rhineback, NY; Great Divide Studios, Aspen, CO; Studio Five Grand, Harbour Island, Bahamas.
Photographers: Lynn Goldsmith; Elliot Lewis; Justin Wilson.
Arrangers: Daryl Hall; T-Bone Wolk; Greg Bieck.
Daryl Hall and John Oates sold millions of records in the 1970s and '80s by fusing their soul influences with contemporary pop production, so it's only fitting that decades down the road they would pay tribute to those influences via OUR KIND OF SOUL. Most of the album is made up of the duo's cover versions of classic soul/R&B tunes. Instead of slavishly recreating the original arrangements, though, Hall & Oates give songs a modern update, with crisp keyboard touches and programmed drums in abundance. While such chestnuts as the Four Tops' "Standing in the Shadows of Love" and Aretha Franklin's "Rock Steady" may be forever ingrained in the collective musical consciousness in their original versions, Hall & Oates do their best to redefine these songs on OUR KIND OF SOUL. Perhaps partly as a gesture to longtime fans anxious for new material, the duo throws in a few original tunes as well, which unsurprisingly sound very much of a piece with the rest of the material here.
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 88 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Hall & Oates

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 7,042
  • UPC: 826948010327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

R&B: Soul Music Categories:

Top ranking titles in the Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)