Clifton Chenier Out West

Out West
2 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  A2F7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 22, 1991
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.I'm on the Wonder
  • 2.The Hucklebuck
  • 3.Je Marche le Plancher (You Know It Ain't Fair)
  • 4.Calinda - (in French)
  • 5.You're the One for Me
  • 6.You're Fussin' Too Much
  • 7.Just Like a Woman
  • 8.All Your Love
  • 9.C.C. Special - (Take #2)
  • 10.I'm a Hog for You
  • 11.C.C. Special - (previously unreleased, Take #1)
  • 12.Ti Na Na - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Zydeco Cha Cha - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Crawfish Jambalaya - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.Ma Negresse Est Gone - (previously unreleased)
  • 16.Breaux Bridge Waltz - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.Louisiana Two-Step - (previously unreleased, previously ureleased)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Clifton Chenier (vocals, accordion); Elvin Bishop, Paul Senegal, Felix Benoit (guitar); John Hart (saxophone); Steve Miller (piano); Joe Brouchet (bass); Robert Peter (drums); Cleveland Chenier (rubboard).
Engineers include: Stephen Jarvis.
Recorded in San Francisco, California in 1971. Includes liner notes by Chris Strachwitz.
Personnel: Clifton Chenier (vocals, guitar, harmonica, accordion); Robert Peter (guitar, drums); Elvin Bishop, Felix James Benoit, Joe Brouchet, Paul Senegal, Cleveland Chenier (guitar); John Hart (saxophone); Stephen Miller (piano).
Liner Note Author: Chris Strachwitz.
Recording information: Funky Features, San Francisco, CA (12/02/1971-05/17/1973); Wally Heider Studios, San Francisco, CA (12/02/1971-05/17/1973).
Editor: Chris Strachwitz.
The bulk of this album was recorded in 1973 in San Francisco (hence the title). Clifton Chenier and His Red Hot Louisiana Band are joined by Bay area mainstays Elvin Bishop on guitar and Steve Miller on piano (Bishop's pianist at the time, not to be confused with the more famous guitarist of the same name). The set is further expanded with four additional tracks recorded two years earlier in the same region, primarily drawn from a blistering live radio broadcast. Given the additional players on hand, there's a strong adherence to straight ahead blues. Chenier's zydeco roots are ever present, but downplayed for the sake of the common language of the blues. Tenor saxophonist John Hart adds a strong counterpoint as a soloist, trading of primarily with Chenier, Bishop and Miller. While this isn't the most typical of Chenier's recordings, it is a wonderful chance to hear him in action as a spirited band leader.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Clifton Chenier

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297035023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)