Clifton Chenier Live! at the Long Beach & San Francisco Blues Festivals

Live! at the Long Beach & San Francisco Blues
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  98WF
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 23, 1993
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.Introduction / Theme
  • 2.I've Had My Fun (Going Down Slow)
  • 3.Zydeco Two-Step
  • 4.Calinda
  • 5.What'd I Say?
  • 6.Party Down
  • 7.I'm Coming Home
  • 8.Pinetop's Boogie Woogie
  • 9.They Call Me Crazy
  • 10.Zydeco Cha Cha
  • 11.You Gonna Miss Me
  • 12.Caledonia
  • 13.New Orleans Beat
  • 14.Clifton's Zydeco
  • 15.Let The Good Times Roll
  • 16.Rock Me
  • 17.Louisiana Two-Step
  • 18.Cher Catin
  • 19.I'm The Zydeco Man

Product Description:

Clifton Chenier & The Red Hot Louisiana Band: Clifton Chenier (vocals, accordion); Sherman Robertson (guitar); C. J. Chenier (alto saxophone); Warren Cesar (trumpet); Alonzo Johnson, Jr. (bass); Robert St. Judy (drums); Cleveland Chenier (rubboard).
Recorded live at The Long Beach Blues Festival, Long Beach, California in 1983 and at The San Fransisco Blues Festival, San Fransisco, California in 1982. Includes liner notes by Chris Strachwitz.
Originally released in 1985, this set offers a dozen songs recorded at the Long Beach Blues Festival in 1983 and another seven from the San Francisco Blues Festival a year earlier. While Chenier made some remarkable studio recordings, he was at his best live. Joined here by his Red Hot Louisiana Band, the seven musicians are a non-stop rhythmic groove machine.
Chenier's accordion and vocals are the glue that holds it all together, and his good natured manner shows him to be the perfect host at every turn. The band works its magic on traditional zydeco fare such as "Cher Catin" and "Zydeco Cha Cha," as well as rocking R&B numbers like Ray Charles's "What'd I Say?" The ensemble sports just two horn players but their smart and sassy parts bolster like a whole platoon.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Clifton Chenier

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297040423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm