Clifton Chenier Bon Ton Roulet

Bon Ton Roulet
1 rating
Price: $17.09
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  98VX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.Bon Ton Roulet
  • 2.Frog Legs
  • 3.If I Ever Get Lucky
  • 4.Black Gal
  • 5.Long Toes
  • 6.Baby, Please Don't Go
  • 7.Houston Boogie - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Blues De Ma Negresse
  • 9.Sweet Little Doll (Cher Catin)
  • 10.Jole Blonde
  • 11.Ay, Ai Ai
  • 12.French Town Waltz
  • 13.Keep On Scratching
  • 14.Black Snake Blues
  • 15.Let's Talk It Over
  • 16.Walking To Louisiana
  • 17.Key To The Highway
  • 18.Things Ain't Like They Used To Be
  • 19.I Got A Little Girl
  • 20.I'm On The Wonder - (previously unreleased)
  • 21.Jump The Boogie - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Clifton Chenier (vocals, accordion); Robert St. Judy (guitar, bass, drums); Felix James Benoit (guitar); Morris Chenier (fiddle); John Hart (tenor saxophone); Elmore Nixon (piano); Joe Morris (bass); Bob Murphy (drums); Cleveland Chenier (rubboard).
Recorded between 1964 & 1973. Includes liner notes by Chris Strachwitz and Dix Bruce.
Personnel: Clifton Chenier (vocals, accordion); Felix James Benoit (guitar); Elmore Nixon (piano); Bob Murphy (drums).
Liner Note Author: Chris Strachwitz.
Recording information: Houston, TX (02/08/1964-09/??/1973); Sierra Sound Laboratories, Berkeley, CA (02/08/1964-09/??/1973); Ville Platte, LA (02/08/1964-09/??/1973).
Editor: Dix Bruce.
Photographer: Chris Strachwitz.
These are some of the recordings that helped place Clifton Chenier further afield from his Louisiana/Texas home base. After his appearance at the Berkeley Blues Festival in 1966 Chris Strachwitz and his Arhoolie Records label began recording Chenier and his band in earnest, both in Houston and in Berkeley. This 21 song set combines tracks from an earlier LP, a 45, as well as previously unreleased songs. This serves as a strong introduction to the man who was justifiably called the King of Zydeco. In fact, it's easy to see why he took that blues festival audience by storm: Besides it's undeniably infectious rhythmic grooves, this music has a strong grounding in the blues. ("If I Ever Get Lucky" is nothing if not a subtly powerful performance by a blues band.)l

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Clifton Chenier

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297034521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)