Holly Near Early Warnings

Early Warnings
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  A2E7
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 21, 2012
  • Label: Calico Tracks Music


  • 1.The Meek Are Getting Ready
  • 2.Don't Let the Singer Down
  • 3.War of the Flea
  • 4.Watch Out!
  • 5.Step It Out Nancy
  • 6.The Train Song
  • 7.Couple of Friends
  • 8.She
  • 9.Nicaragua Night
  • 10.Sun Won't Stop
  • 11.Child
  • 12.Sky Dances
  • 13.West Virginia Friend
  • 14.Quiet Early Morning

Product Description:

Personnel: Holly Near (vocals); John McCutcheon (acoustic guitar, banjo, hammered dulcimer); Paul Reisler, Nina Gerber (acoustic guitar); Lorraine Duisit (mandola, background vocals); Freyda Epstein (violin, viola, background vocals); Irene Sazer (viola); Ralph Gordon (cello, acoustic bass); Darol Anger, (cello); John Bucchino (piano, keyboards); Michael Manring (bass); Cam Davis (drums).
Personnel: Holly Near (vocals); Lorraine Duisit (vocals, mandola, mandolin); Freyda Epstein (vocals, violin, double bass); John McCutcheon (acoustic guitar, banjo, hammer dulcimer); Rafael Manriquez, Nina Gerber, Paul Reisler (acoustic guitar); Ray Obiedo (electric guitar); Debbie Cotter (banjo); Irene Sazer (viola); Ralph Gordon (cello, acoustic bass); Darol Anger (cello); John Bucchino (piano, keyboards); Barbara Higbie (piano); Carrie Barton (electric bass); Cam Davis (drums).
Audio Mixer: Leslie Ann Jones.
Photographers: Jerry Rubino; Jesse VanAntwerp.
Arrangers: Joanie Shoemaker; Jo-Lynne Worley; Holly Near; John Bucchino; John McCutcheon; Michael Manring.
With Holly Near's Redwood label having gone bust, putting all her early albums out of print, Appleseed culls tracks from two of her 1980s releases, Watch Out! and Sky Dances, and adds the version of Pete Seeger's "Quiet Early Morning" from its 1998 Seeger tribute, Where Have All the Flowers Gone, to construct this compilation. Near adds a sleeve note under the word "context," pointing out that most of the songs derive from the Reagan era and represent early warnings for political storms that are here today. The compilation doesn't do any favors for Watch Out!, which was a timely collection of topical songwriting set to a folk/bluegrass/acoustic new age musical palette contributed by the likes of John McCutcheon, Barbara Higbie, Michael Manring, Darol Anger, and others. But Sky Dances marked the beginning of Near's apparent writing block, and excerpting her own compositions from an album largely made up of cover tunes, while dropping some of the lesser tracks from Watch Out! makes for a stronger collection than either album separately. Near fans, of course, will want the original albums, but they're hard to find, and this is a reasonable selection from them. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Holly Near

Product Info

  • UPC: 611587105622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)