Acid Bath When The Kite String Pops

When The Kite String Pops
88 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XXQ4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 26, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Rotten

Entertainment Reviews:

NME (Magazine) - 9/17/94, p.57
7 - Very Good - "...Never to be accused of wallowing in positivity, Acid Bath snarl out some low post-Melvins numbers..."


  • 1.The Blue
  • 2.Tranquilized
  • 3.Cheap Vodka
  • 4.Finger Paintings of the Insane
  • 5.Jezebel
  • 6.Scream of the Butterfly
  • 7.Dr. Seuss Is Dead
  • 8.Dope Fiend
  • 9.Toubabo Koomi
  • 10.God Machine
  • 11.Morticians Flame
  • 12.What Color Is Death
  • 13.Bones of Baby Dolls
  • 14.Cassie Eats Cockaroaches

Product Description:

Acid Bath: Daxx Riggs (vocals); Mike Sanchez (guitar, tambourine); Sammy Duet (guitar, background vocals); Audie Pitre (bass, background vocals); Jimmy Kyle (drums).
Personnel: Dax Riggs (vocals); Sammy Duet, Mike Sanchez (guitar, background vocals); Jimmy Kyle (drums); Audie Pitre (background vocals).
Recording information: Side One, Metairie, LA, CA.
Photographer: Mike Wasco.
Acid Bath's debut is a malicious and sometimes downright disturbing album that defies easy categorization. They stitch together elements of death metal, '70s hard rock, thrashing hardcore punk and Black Sabbath-esque sludge into multi-sectioned songs that are both intricate and often surprisingly melodic. The production, especially the compressed drums and often-processed vocals, adds an industrial feel that increases the album's menacing vibe. "The Blue" kicks things off with a bluesy swamp metal riff before smoothly winding its way through a maze of tempo and riff change-ups, while the closer, "Cassie Eats Cockroaches," weaves spoken word samples and screaming vocals in and out of complex, Southern-flavored death metal riffing and precision double-bass drumming. Elsewhere, the songs range from full-on assaults ("Cheap Vodka" and "Toubabo Koomi") to creepy ballads, namely the goth-tinged "Scream of the Butterfly" and the largely acoustic "The Bones of Baby Dolls." Vocalist Dax Riggs handles this diverse material well, switching between distorted screams and a melodic croon reminiscent of Jim Morrison or Glen Danzig. His not-for-the-squeamish lyrics address such topics as drug abuse, rape, abortion, death, and self-loathing, but for the most part do so in an artful, vividly poetic manner. While it would have been stronger if a few of the weaker songs had been left off, When the Kite String Pops is still an excellent, diverse metal album that remains unlike much else, even years after it release. ~ William York

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 88 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Acid Bath

Product Info

  • UPC: 032357209522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)