The King and I [Original Movie Soundtrack Recording]
by Various Artists

The King and I [Original Movie Soundtrack
49 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.34 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $3.64 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XXD9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 13, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Angel Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/12/01, p.38
Ranked #58 in EW's "100 Best Movie Soundtracks" - "...A culture-clash classic..."


  • 1.King and I, musical: Main Title, The - Twentieth Century Fox Orchestra (previously unreleased)
  • 2.King and I, musical: I Whistle A Happy Tune, The - Marni Nixon
  • 3.The King and I, musical: My Lord And Master
  • 4.King and I, musical: The March Of The Siamese Children, The - Twentieth Century Fox Orchestra
  • 5.King and I, musical: Anna and The Royal Wives, The - Twentieth Century Fox Orchestra (previously unreleased)
  • 6.The King and I, musical: Hello, Young Lovers
  • 7.The King and I, musical: A Puzzlement
  • 8.King and I, musical: Getting To Know You, The - Marni Nixon
  • 9.King and I, musical: Garden Rendezvous, The - Twentieth Century Fox Orchestra (previously unreleased)
  • 10.King and I, musical: We Kiss In A Shadow, The - Reuben Fuentes / Leona Gordon
  • 11.King and I, musical: I Have Dreamed, The - Reuben Fuentes / Leona Gordon
  • 12.King and I, musical: Shall I Tell You What I Think Of You?, The - Marni Nixon
  • 13.King and I, musical: Something Wonderful, The - Terry Saunders
  • 14.King and I, musical: Prayer To Buddha, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.King and I, musical: Waltz of Anna and Sir Edward, The - Twentieth Century Fox Orchestra (previously unreleased)
  • 16.King and I, musical: The Small House Of Uncle Thomas, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.King and I, musical: Song Of The King, The - Yul Brynner
  • 18.King and I, musical: Shall We Dance, The - Marni Nixon / Yul Brynner
  • 19.King and I, musical: The Letter, The - Twentieth Century Fox Orchestra (previously unreleased)
  • 20.King and I, musical: Something Wonderful, The (finale)
  • 21.King and I, musical: Overture, The (LP version) - Twentieth Century Fox Orchestra / Alfred Newman (LP version, bonus track)

Product Description:

Music composed by Richard Rodgers. Lyrics written by Oscar Hammerstein II.
Principal cast includes: Yul Brynner (The King) Deborah Kerr/Marni Nixon (Anna Leonowens); Rita Moreno/Leona Gordon (Tuptim); Terry Saunders (Lady Thiang); Carlos Rivas/Reuben Fuentes (Lun Tha).
Producer: Carl Faulkner.
Reissue producers: Didier C. Deutsch, Charles L. Grananta.
Recorded at 20th Century Fox Studios, Hollywood, California from September 1955 to April 1956. Originally released on Capitol (740). Includes liner notes by Charles L. Granata.
Digitally remastered by Darcy M. Proper, Jen Wyler (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
Personnel: Rub‚n Fuentes (vocals).
Audio Remixers: Jen Wyler; Darcy Proper.
Liner Note Author: Charles Granata.
Recording information: 20th Century-Fox Studios, Hollywood, CA (1956).
Editor: John Palladino.
Considered by many to be an improvement on the original cast album that followed the show's 1951 Broadway production, this record features the unmistakable tones of the definitive "King," Yul Brynner, but his co-star Deborah Kerr's singing voice is skillfully dubbed by one of the undisputed mistresses of that art, Marni Nixon. It is difficult to spot the point at which Kerr stops speaking and Nixon begins singing on lovely songs such as "Shall We Dance?" and "Getting To Know You," but after listening to the score again on the 1993 CD reissue, it is easy to understand the album's long tenure in the UK (103 weeks) and US (178 weeks) bestsellers lists.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 49 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 53,554
  • UPC: 724352735129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)