Luther Allison Reckless

18 ratings
Only 8 copies left
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  F38W
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Alligator Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 8/97, p.75
"...highlights Luther's soul-tinged vocals and accomplished six-string work. He sings with sanctified intesity...and stings with soulful conviction...He also flaunts some wicked slide licks...and does a nice turn on acoustic of the modern day greats of the blues."
Option - 7-8/97, p.90
"...Allison recognizes that the blues is more of an approach than a strictly defined style....This disc proves there are some fires that just don't go out."


  • Buy for $0.991.Low Down And Dirty
  • Buy for $0.992.You Can Run But You Can't Hide
  • Buy for $0.993.Living In The House Of The Blues
  • Buy for $0.994.You Can, You Can
  • Buy for $0.995.Will it Ever Change?
  • Buy for $0.996.Just As I Am
  • Buy for $0.997.There Comes A Time
  • Buy for $0.998.Drowning At The Bottom
  • Buy for $0.999.Playin' A Losing Game - (with Bernard Allison)
  • Buy for $0.9910.It's A Blues Thing
  • Buy for $0.9911.Cancel My Check
  • Buy for $0.9912.Pain In The Streets
  • Buy for $0.9913.You're Gonna Make Me Cry
  • Buy for $0.9914.I'm Back

Product Description:

Personnel: Luther Allison (vocals, guitar); James Solberg, Bernard Allison (guitar); Marla Glen (harmonica); Kurt Clayton (electric piano); Mike Vlahakis, Rick Steff (electric piano and Hammond B3); Dave Smith, Ken Faltinson (bass); Lloyd Anderson, Darin James, Steve Potts, Willie Hayes (drums).
The Memphis Horns: Andrew Love (tenor saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet, trombone).
Recorded at 315 Beale Studios, Memphis, Tennessee and Woodstock Studios, Paris, France.
RECKLESS was nominated for a 1998 Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Blues Album.
Personnel: Luther Allison (vocals, guitar); Bernard Allison (vocals, guitar); Marla Glen (harmonica); Andrew Love (tenor saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet, trombone); Kurt Clayton, Mike Vlahakis, Rick Steff (electric piano); Darin James, Willie Hayes, Lloyd Anderson, Steve Potts (drums).
Audio Mixers: Jim Gaines; Rusty McFarland.
Recording information: 315 Beale Studios, Memphis, TN; Woodstock Studio, Paris, France.
Photographer: Philippe Pierangeli.
Luther's third album for Alligator finds the 50-something bluesman truly at the peak of his powers. His superb guitar playing has never been more focused, and his singing shows a fervent shouter in full command. But Allison's songwriting has made giant strides as well, and ten of the 14 tracks aboard feature him as a co-writer as well. The production by Jim Gaines delivers a modern-sounding album that stays firmly in the blues tradition while giving full vent to Luther's penchant for blending soul, rock and funk grooves into his musical stew. There are really no duff tracks aboard, but special attention should be paid to the sloppy but right slide guitar-meets-rock & roll groove of "Low Down And Dirty," and Allison's incredibly hot minor key soloing (at full rock volume) on "Drowning At The Bottom," an acoustic duet with his son Bernard on "Playin' A Losing Game," and the grinding social commentary of "Pain In The Streets." If Allison had made albums like this for Motown 20-some years ago, it would be very interesting to speculate on how the blues history books just might have been rewritten. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Luther Allison

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 114,406
  • UPC: 014551484929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)