The Harmonizing Four The Harmonizing Four 1943-1954 (2-CD)

The Harmonizing Four 1943-1954 (2-CD)
2 ratings
11 copies available
Sale: $15.26
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.27 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.95
You Save: $3.68 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  F35E
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 5, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Acrobat


  • 1.Every Time I Feel the Spirit
  • 2.Who'll Be a Witness For My Lord
  • 3.Great Camp Meeting in the Promised Land
  • 4.Keep Inchin' Along
  • 5.I Done What You Told Me to Do
  • 6.When I've Done the Best I Can
  • 7.I'm Bound For Higher Ground
  • 8.One Day
  • 9.I Cried Holy
  • 10.Jesus Gave Me Water
  • 11.Blessed Quietness
  • 12.How Far Am I From Canaan
  • 13.Thank You Jesus
  • 14.Noah
  • 15.Precious Memories
  • 16.I Am on the Battlefield
  • 17.Lord I'm Coming Home
  • 18.King Jesus Will Roll All Burdens Away
  • 19.Never Turn Back No More
  • 20.Silent Night
  • 21.Sweet Little Jesus Boy
  • 22.Jesus Is a Friend to Everyone
  • 23.Where He Leads Me I Will Follow
  • 24.Mothers Prayer Has Followed Me
  • 25.Pray Every Step of the Way
  • 26.Get Right With God
  • 27.Will There Be Any Stars in My Crown
  • 28.May the Good Lord Bless and Keep You
  • 29.Say a Word
  • 30.Beyond the Sunset
  • 31.Gave My Heart to Jesus
  • 32.Mother's Prayer
  • 33.This Wicked Race
  • 34.I've Started in Jesus
  • 35.Joy in Beulah Land
  • 36.Protect My Loved Ones
  • 37.Working For the Lord
  • 38.Watch Over Me
  • 39.You Ought to Know the Lord
  • 40.Lift Every Voice and Sing
  • 41.Let God Abide
  • 42.When I'm Gone
  • 43.I've Been Changed
  • 44.Trust Jesus
  • 45.Come Over Here
  • 46.What Do You Know
  • 47.I Shall Not Be Moved
  • 48.I'll Go Lord, Send Me
  • 49.I Trust in God
  • 50.I Want to Know
  • 51.I Shall Rest at the End of the Day
  • 52.The Lords Prayer
  • 53.Amazing Grace
  • 54.Keep Me All the Way

Product Description:

Personnel: Lonnie Liston Smith (guitar, tenor saxophone); Thomas Johnson (tenor saxophone).
Liner Note Author: Opal Nations.
Acrobat's double-disc salute to the Harmonizing Four concentrates on this popular gospel group's pre-Vee Jay recordings, cut during the years 1943-1954 for the Decca, Religious, Coleman, MGM, and Gotham labels. Originally formed in Virginia, the group was usually billed on their early records as the Richmond Harmonizing Four, the Harmonizing Four of Richmond, or the Richmond Harmonizers. During this period members included leader Joseph "Gospel Joe" Williams, John Scott, Thomas "Goat" or "Snake" Johnson, and James Walker, who also sang with the Southern Sons and the Dixie Hummingbirds. The original a cappella approach was discarded when the group (which sometimes operated as a quintet) came to include singing guitarist Lonnie Smith, father of modern jazz pianist Lonnie Liston Smith. The bass clef was handled by a series of excellent deep-voiced individuals as Levi Hansley was replaced by Clarence Ross, who passed away and was succeeded by the great Mississippi-born vocalist Jimmy Jones. This comprehensive collection's 54 tracks include all of the group's early hits among a solid blend of classic standards and originals. Anyone enamored of the Harmonizing Four' Vee Jay, Atlantic, Babylon, Jewel, and Checker releases is sure to enjoy this well-stocked overview of devotional works from the group's first decade of recording activity. ~ arwulf arwulf
Acrobat Music

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Harmonizing Four

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 47,506
  • UPC: 824046300524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Christian & Gospel genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)