Tommy James A Night In The Big City...Plus (Import/Bonus Tracks)

A Night In The Big City...Plus (Import/Bonus
Price: $17.09
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JDWR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Angel Air

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.118
3 stars out of 5 -- "Sharp, feet-friendly '90s pop..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Red Headed Woman (in a Black Limousine)
  • Buy for $0.992.Baby Tonight
  • Buy for $0.993.Give It All
  • Buy for $0.994.I Think Were Alone Now
  • Buy for $0.995.Who Do You Love
  • Buy for $0.996.Megamation Man
  • Buy for $0.997.Madd Blue
  • Buy for $0.998.Blue Bird
  • Buy for $0.999.Angels and Strangers
  • Buy for $0.9910.Tighter Tighter
  • Buy for $0.9911.In Slow Emotion
  • Buy for $0.9912.Glory Glory
  • Buy for $0.9913.Comin Down
  • Buy for $0.9914.Youre So Easy to Love
  • Buy for $0.9915.Halfway To Heaven
  • Buy for $0.9916.Say Please
  • Buy for $0.9917.Two Time Lover
  • Buy for $0.9918.One Emotion Away
  • Buy for $0.9919.Distant Thunder

Product Description:

Personnel: Tommy James (guitar); John Golden (vocals, guitar); Benjy King (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer); Meredith Struhl (vocals); Glenn Taylor (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, drums, percussion); Keith Mack (guitar); Jimmy Wisner (strings, keyboards, synthesizer); Artie Kaplan (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Burt Collins (trumpet); Mike Chambers, George Recile (drums, percussion).
Liner Note Author: Ed Osborne.
Recording information: Bearsville Studios, Woodstock, NY; East Hill Studio, Palisades Park, NJ; Electric Lady Studio, New York, NY; House Of Music, W. Orange, NJ; Quad Recording Studio, New York, NY; Quad Studios, New York, NY; Red Rock Recording Studio, Saylorsburg, PA; Taylor-Made Studios, Caldwell, NJ; The Hit Factory, New York, NY; Venture Sound Studios, Hillsborough, NJ.
This is an ambitious project by songsmith Tommy James featuring 11 songs and ten tracks of dialogue linking them together. Concept albums are tough -- a great example of a successful marriage of music and dialogue on CD being The Wizard Of Oz soundtrack. When Lou Reed released Berlin in 1973, the RCA label touted it as a "film for the ear." It was a soap opera set to music, a downer version of the "rock opera" format the Who launched with Tommy. In order to grab the listener, a storyline must be as compelling as the music. The narrative on A Night in Big City is confusing, but the music is among Tommy James' best solo work. This audio-movie has the smart pop Tommy James is known for, suspended by an unnecessary story thread. A natural evolution from his Christian of the World phase (which included the hit "Draggin' the Line"), the song "Baby Tonight" is vintage Tommy James with modern sounds. But it's necessary to get up and hit "next" on the CD player to skip the interruption and get to the next song, "Give It All," another hook-laden tune with James' great vocals and guitar work. It's nice to see he's still working with arranger and co-producer Jimmy "Wiz" Wisner (keyboards, synths, strings), who worked on the Christian of the World album. "Give It All" segues nicely into a revision of "I Think We're Alone Now," a very sparse, very cool "new wave" version. "Who Do You Love is ethereal Tommy James music, very nice indeed. James then picks up a chick for a ride in his limo, tuning his radio in to hear the single from this CD, "Megamation Man." This is a Ray Davies kind of "20th Century Man" that comes during the century after, a solid tune. "Madd Blue" is unique solo TJ. Unlike his Roulette discs without the Shondells, this is downright psychotic, sounding like Boris Karloff meets Richard O'Brien from The Rocky Horror Picture Show. In the comic book accompanying this disc -- which features a "3D" cover a la Chuck Negron's The Long Road Back -- Willoughby, the crazed maƒtre d', attempts to explain the night's show. "Blue Bird" begins in a Tiny Tim-ish '40s style (which Mama Cass Elliot embraced so well -- this song would've been perfect for her). "Angels and Strangers," written by James and Glen Wyka, has a great hook that is classic Tommy James, a bit of "Crimson and Clover's riff speeded up a tad.
James is in excellent voice on this disc. "Tighter, Tighter" -- the hit he wrote for Alive 'n Kickin' (which became Brooklyn Dreams and appeared on Donna Summer's "Heaven Knows") -- is different than the version James re-recorded for his Fantasy Records debut in 1976. Co-produced by his old friends Ritchie Cordell and Kenny Laguna of "Mony Mony" fame, the Fantasy version is dreamier. This is more up-tempo and rocking. The band gets into a limo and ends up in a nightclub that burned down in 1937 -- some kind of script right out of Quantum Leap (not as much fun as the music, although it sounds good in theory). The final track, "In Slow Motion," is reminiscent of "Crystal Blue Persuasion." Despite the flaws in this endeavor, it is music that radio desperately needs. Maybe a new script for what comes between these songs upon re-release is in order, for without the interruptions, A Night in Big City is a classy effort. ~ Joe Viglione

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Tommy James

Product Info

  • UPC: 5055011703544
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)