Joan Baez The Debut Album (Bonus Tracks)

The Debut Album (Bonus Tracks)
5 ratings
List Price: $14.95
Sale: $13.46
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.70 Limited Time Only
You Save: $3.25 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XY5E
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 12, 2011
  • Label: Chrome Dreams

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.82
3 stars out of 5 -- "23 tracks here represent a historic moment....[Baez] helped to bridge the gap between the earlier traditions of old-time American music and the coming of the pop-and-rock revolution."


  • 1.Silver Dagger
  • 2.East Virginia
  • 3.Fare Thee Well (10,000 Miles)
  • 4.House of the Rising Sun
  • 5.All My Trials
  • 6.Wildwood Flower
  • 7.Donna Donna
  • 8.John Riley
  • 9.Rake and Rambling Boy
  • 10.Little Moses
  • 11.Mary Hamilton
  • 12.Henry Martin
  • 13.Preso NĀ£mero Nueve, El
  • 14.Banks of the Ohio
  • 15.O What a Beautiful City
  • 16.Sail Away Ladies
  • 17.Black Is the Color
  • 18.Lowlands
  • 19.Virgin Mary (What You Gonna Call Your Pretty Little Baby)
  • 20.Kitty - (featuring Bill Wood)
  • 21.So Soon in the Morning - (featuring Bill Wood)
  • 22.Careless Love - (featuring Bill Wood)
  • 23.Don't Weep After Me - (featuring Ted Alevizos / Bill Wood)

Product Description:

Joan Baez's first album was released in 1960 and it was a revelation. Here was an angelic-looking, dark-haired 19-year-old singing ancient songs, most of them drawn from the Child Ballads, a set of 305 numbered ballads from England and Scotland (and several American variants) collected by Francis James Child in the late 19th century, with a soprano voice so pure and mesmerizing that it appeared as timeless as a voice in an elegant and graceful dream. She made ancient love and murder ballads seem like cool and serious business, and without Baez as a virginal-looking poster girl, the commercial end of the urban folk revival of the early '60s might never have gotten off the ground. This release includes a remastered version of that first album and adds in Folksingers 'Round Harvard Square, Baez's first actual record, which features her singing solo on six songs, as part of a duo with Bill Wood on four songs, and as part of a trio with Wood and Ted Alevizos on another song. The bonus set originally appeared on LP in 1959 from the little Veritas Records label and was intended as an introduction to the Cambridge, Massachusetts folk scene that was just beginning to flourish at the time. Paired like this, one realizes that Baez just didn't suddenly appear from the heavens after all when her official album came out a year later, but that her approach and stage presence had been artfully formed and nurtured in the Cambridge folk clubs. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.6
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Joan Baez

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,358
  • UPC: 823564619125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)