Ian Gillan Live At The BBC 79/80 (2-CD/Import)

Live At The BBC 79/80 (2-CD/Import)
Only 6 copies left
Sale: $18.88
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $4 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XXYW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 28, 2001
  • Label: Angel Air

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Interview with Ian Gillan
  • 2.Sleeping on the Job
  • 3.Mr. Universe
  • 4.Dead of Night
  • 5.Roller
  • 6.Vengeance
  • 7.Smoke on the Water
  • 8.Secret of the Dance
  • 9.Sleeping on the Job
  • 10.Mr. Universe
  • 11.Dead of Night
  • 12.Vengeance

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Unchain Your Brain
  • 2.Are You Sure?
  • 3.Mr. Universe
  • 4.No Easy Way
  • 5.Trouble
  • 6.If You Believe Me
  • 7.On the Rocks
  • 8.Nervous
  • 9.Running White Face City Boy
  • 10.Vengeance
  • 11.Lucille
  • 12.Interview with Ian Gillan
  • 13.If You Believe Me

Product Description:

Gillan: Ian Gillan (vocals); Bernie Torme (guitar); Colin Towne (keyboards); John McCoy (bass); Mick Underwood (drums).
Recorded live at The Reading Rock Festival, England on August 25, 1979 and at The Paris Theater, London, England on September 19, 1979 and September 24, 1980.
Personnel: Ian Gillan (vocals); Bernie Torm‚ (guitar); Colin Towns (keyboards); Mick Underwood (drums).
Recording information: Reading Rock Festival (08/25/1979-03/27/1980).
This two-disc compilation of 1979 and 1980 broadcasts features the lineup of lead singer Ian Gillan, guitarist Bernie Torme, bassist John McCoy, keyboardist Colin Towns, and drummer Mick Underwood. The first half of disc one is actually from the August 1979 Reading Rock Festival (broadcast on the BBC), followed by five songs from a session the following month in London's Paris Theater for the BBC's #In Concert radio series. A September 1980 show (also at the Paris Theater, and also for In Concert) takes up most of disc two. It focuses on their Glory Road album, with only two songs, "Mr. Universe" and "Vengeance," repeated from the sets on the prior CD. Closing out the second disc is one song, the Led Zeppelin-esque "If You Believe Me," from the BBC's Friday Rock Show on March 27, 1980. Considering that the sound is good throughout, each CD running about 70 minutes, the compilation is a good value for those who want more material to supplement the relatively slim output Gillan released from the studio during the band's brief lifespan in the late 1970s and early '80s. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ian Gillan

Product Info

  • UPC: 5055011700550
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)