Maggie Bell Best Of - Sound & Vision (CD/DVD)

Best Of - Sound & Vision (CD/DVD)
Only 5 copies left
Sale: $21.58
SUPER SAVINGS: $20.36 Limited Time Only
List Price: $23.98
You Save: $3.62 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XYC5
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 11, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Angel Air

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Cado Queen
  • 2.As The Years Go Passing By
  • 3.We Had It All
  • 4.Wishing Well
  • 5.Suicide Sal
  • 6.I Was In Chains
  • 7.Coming On Strong
  • 8.No Mean City (Theme From Taggart)
  • 9.Penicillin Blues [Live] - (live)
  • 10.Danger Money [Live] - (live)
  • 11.Bring It On Home To Me [Live] - (live, featuring Midnight Flyer)
  • 12.Respect Yourself [Live] - (live, featuring British Blues Quintet)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Hey Boy - (live)
  • 2.Danger Money - (live)
  • 3.Love Games - (live)
  • 4.Sweet Lovin' Woman - (live)
  • 5.Poor Little Jimmy - (live)
  • 6.Rough Trade - (live)
  • 7.French Kisses - (live)
  • 8.Too Much Love - (live)
  • 9.Penicillin Blues - (live)
  • 10.Bring It On Home To Me - (live, featuring Taj Mahal)
  • 11.Chain Gang - (live, featuring Taj Mahal)
  • 12.Blues Jam - (live, featuring Albert Collins)
  • 13.Stormy Monday Blues - (live, featuring Albert Collins)
  • 14.Interview
  • 15.History Of Midnight Flyer

Product Description:

Personnel: Maggie Bell (vocals).
Despite the slightly presumptuous title, there's no disputing the quality of the music here. Maggie Bell is one of the most extraordinary British vocalists of her generation, with a quality and timbre that few performers (female or male) were able to truly rival, and an ear for rearrangements that could transform the simplest song into a blues-drenched epic. But to cherry pick just a dozen songs from her catalog and omit Stone the Crows from the tally is to leave the listener screaming for more -- which, of course, is what all good "best-ofs" should do. This set gathers material from just four primary sources: the two albums Bell cut for Led Zeppelin's Swan Song label during the mid-'70s, her late-'70s hook-up with the band Midnight Flyer, and some more recent concert work with the British Blues Quintet; add her theme song to the TV show Taggart to the brew, and you have a reasonable but by no means definitive glimpse into Bell's mighty musical engine room. The accompanying DVD is more satisfying, although in echoing two of the performances on the audio disc, it is possible to nurture a vague sense of dissatisfaction. Shot live in Montreux in July 1981, with Taj Mahal and Albert Collins among the guests, it's a phenomenal performance, as fiery as it ought to be, and beautifully filmed and recorded. A fascinating interview wraps up the package, but in truth, Bell deserves a much farther-reaching "best-of" than this. ~ Dave Thompson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Maggie Bell

Product Info

  • UPC: 5055011702745
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)