After The Fire Radio Sessions 1979-1981 (Import)

Radio Sessions 1979-1981 (Import)
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $17.96
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.62 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.95
You Save: $4.33 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XYAS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009


  • Buy for $0.991.Joy
  • Buy for $0.992.A Little Sun Little Rain
  • Buy for $0.993.Laser Love
  • Buy for $0.994.Time To Think
  • Buy for $0.995.One Rule For You
  • Buy for $0.996.Suspended Animation
  • Buy for $0.997.Check It Out
  • Buy for $0.998.Like The Power Of A Jet
  • Buy for $0.999.Laser Love
  • Buy for $0.9910.Life In The City
  • Buy for $0.9911.Can You Face It
  • Buy for $0.9912.Who's Gonna Love You
  • Buy for $0.9913.Billy Billy
  • Buy for $0.9914.Frozen River
  • Buy for $0.9915.Dancing In The Shadows
  • Buy for $0.9916.Sailing Ship
  • Buy for $0.9917.Bright Lights
  • Buy for $0.9918.Take Me Higher
  • Buy for $0.9919.Starflight

Product Description:

Personnel: Andy Piercy (vocals, bass instrument); John Russell (guitar, background vocals); Peter Banks (keyboards, background vocals); Pete King (drums, percussion); Ivor Twidell (drums).
One-hit wonders in the States, having marched toward the top of the chart in 1983 with "Der Kommissar," After the Fire actually had a long and colorful history whose antecedents stretched back over a decade by the time of that hit. Multiple shifts in lineups and serious alterations in their sound dogged their career, but by 1979 the pieces were all coming together. Radio Sessions 1979-1981 finds the band readying for success, staging live concerts on a now annual basis for the BBC. The ultimate genre bender, ATF deftly melded the over the top keyboard extravagance of the likes of ELP against the edginess and aggression of punk and the pop sensibilities of the then fast-rising new wave. It was a potent combination on record, but it was even more impressive on-stage, as the group amply illustrates on the surprisingly incendiary "Joy," the angular "Suspended Animation," the compulsive "Can You Face It," and the kick-up-your-heels "Life in the City." Nor could maturity dampen their spark, as the 1981 set finds the remarkable "Dancing in the Shadows" sashaying into a more urban style, while "Sailing Ship" disembarks close to the same territory that U2 would soon claim as their own. This material may be unfamiliar to American audiences, but regardless, it's ATF at their best. ~ Dave Thompson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for After The Fire

Product Info

  • UPC: 5055011703018
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)